Wicked Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made these brownies as a base for a trifle and the dense cake-like consistency was perfect for that. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used the 1 stick of butter but only used 2 eggs and half the flour. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. These are not sweet brownies but may be good with a frosting or ganache. I did not add the nuts to the batter but sprinkled them between layers of the trifle. I also used an 11x7 pan instead of a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These were so so dry, Ended up using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Oh my gosh, I wish I would have read the prevoiusly posted comments before I made these. I agree with the other postings saying that the batter was sooo thick I knew they wouldn't turn out in the back of my mind. I also baked at on;y 325 degrees and for 5 less minutes and I ended up with a pan of brownies you couldn't eat beacuse they were so dry. Sad I wasted all the ingredients and my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I couldn't believe this recipe had so much sugar in it, but was very tastless. They turned out like dry cake. I was very excited to try a new brownie recipe, then very disappointed when I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
these brownies were awesome, I added chocolate chunks and left out the nuts but other than that followed the recipe. we are living on a small russian island at the moment and duncan hines is hard to come by. These more than satisfied my chocolate fever! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Bluestein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe! Rivals my mom's "best ever" recipe that I loved as a kid. Had a sweet tooth when I was making them, added three tablespoons creamy peanut butter, half a cup of chocolate chips and a handful of flake coconut, and they weren't too sweet, but were chewy and great-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I read the reviews and went with 1 cup butter, 3 eggs, 2 cups flour and I added 1/4 cup or so of chocolate syrup with the eggs and sugar mix. Everyone loved them. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amelia, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Too much sugar, not enough butter. Ended up having to use milk in a desperate attempt. Much better with a layer of cream cheese in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did not like these brownies. they were more like an extremely dry cake rather than brownies. i understand some ppl enjoy cake like brownies, but im not one of them. I added an exta 1/2 cup of butter as others suggested. I also added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar as the batter didnt taste sweet enough before baking. before baking I added peanut butter on top and swirled it in. though, none of these tweaks made a huge difference in me liking these brownies. sorry wicked brownie originator, theyre just arent that great at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States