Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've tried different recipes, but I'll use this one from now on! The cake mix makes it easy and delicious. I used a stick of softened butter and half a cup shortening for the filling. I have to say that I wasn't crazy about the cakes when I first assembled them, but they were amazing out of the refrigerator the next day! My co-worker had fond memories of whoopie pies from her childhood, and I thought she'd be hard to please. She thought these tasted even better than the ones she remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Time consuming but worth it. Big hit with everyone at a recent get together. Kids absolutely love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Yum! Now these are whoopie pies as I remember. The cake mix was very easy to use and the "pies" were cakey rather than like hard cookies as I've found with other recipes. We really enjoyed the icing as well, since there are no raw eggs in it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Very delicious and easy to make! The first batch I made came out very large & thin, so next time I'll try using less batter to keep them smaller. The filling is very fluffy, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This recipe was much easier and moister using the cake mix!! I used a different recipe for the icing though...2 egg whites, 1C shortening, 1 lb box of confectioners sugar, 1 tea Vanilla, 4 tbs flour and 4 tbs milk...just whip it up and it's ready to go. Everyone loved these....especially when refrigerated!!!! GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I was afraid the dough was too thin so I added about 3/4 cup flour to the cake dough. They turned out great. I will be brave next time and not add the flour and see how it does. I used another filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
It took me a couple tries to get the cake part the right size. I used slightly less than a tablespoon of batter to make about a 3 inch cake. One other reviewer suggested less filling, though I will definitely make 1 1/2 batches of filling next time. I also used half butter in the filling. The neighborhood kids and adults loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it said and these were wonderful! I had one for lunch and I am going to try and resist eating the rest because they need to make it to my daughter's bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I have to say that I didn't use this recipe, but one that my foster mother gave to me. I remember her making these when I lived with her and she would use them for fun ice cream sandwiches. Now that I am 26 with 6 children, I wanted to give my children those same memories so now I make them. I however do feel that this recipe is a very good one. the recipe I have doesn't use the devil's food cake mix as the base, but all in all its all the same! Enjoy them and have fun with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is for sure the closest thing to the real Amish Whoopie pies I am so fond of from New York! I did add a little flour to the batter and dropped by the teaspoon onto parchment paper, makes a lot easier. Don't forget to use only 3/4 cup water and add the box of choc. pudding. It helps the firm up the batter so that they're not flat. And be careful when dropping them on your cookie sheet so they won't spread. And the filling isn't that great tasting till you add it to the cakes, that is where the magic happens! I think I added a little marsh fluff for good measure too! Great recipe! Thanks! :) I don't know of a "from scratch" recipe, but please share if you do! I'd love to try and see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States