Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I gotta say I've tried a few times on this and just never been successful. Maybe its just me but I probably won't try again. They look so yummy but my pies turned out messy and I wasn't crazy about the taste and consistency of the filling. I'm sure others have had better luck than me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyel Dille Casselman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Cake and filling are great! As the other reviewers have stated, tastes MUCH better after being in the fridge for a bit to 'set' :) thank you for a great recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckymom
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Easy, but I could not get the cookies to set well. I ended up using an embossed mini cake pan and then cutting the cakes in half to fill them. They taste great and ended up looking super cute. Unfortunately I am only giving 3 stars because the original cooking method did not work so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennebunk, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe! I used an earlier suggestion and added a box of instant chocolate pudding and they came out beautifully. Definitely a quick and easy recipe with a delicious outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used a different recipe the box of cake mix 3 eggs and 1/2 cup of veg oil and 1/4 cup coccoa powder til mixed. for 10 minutes at 350. Dough was easy and delish and yummy. cakes came out very flat. Not puffy but still delish. the shortening makes anything gross. I used exact matching measurements of vanilla icing and cool whip. You can even use low fat. Whip together fill and refrigerate. Very light not over powering a great change. These were wonderful. Love the filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Great, but I think I may have cooked them a little too long. I used the Medium sized pampered chef scoop to make the pies so they are pretty small. Only say I cooked too long because they are dry the next day.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was away from home and wanted to make whoopie pies, which gave me a natural opportunity to try a new recipe. In general, the whoopie pies were good. The cake mix is a convenient and quick alternative, although it was easy to distinguish the "cake mix" flavor, which is expected. The whoopie pies are noticeably more sticky on day 2. The filling is quite good when butter is substituted for shortening, but I am rating the recipe as written, not as modified. I will continue to rely on my favorite recipe in the future, which provides a "sturdier" cake with a homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Followed other reviewers and added 1 box of instant pudding and 3 TBSP of flour. I used a medium sized cookie scoop (OXO). I have a Kenmore electric range (circa 2005) and baked for 11 minutes to perfection. They are glossy and delicious. I used a buttercream recipe from this site (butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, salt) to fill, as I don't care for cooked frosting. I'm planning to run the edges through red sugar for a holiday touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The batter definitely needs to stand about 10 minutes or so in order to "firm up" a bit - it will give a much better shape to the cake, otherwise it will spread too much and the ends will get too thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great whoopie pie recipe! Followed exactly using a Devils Food mix that already had pudding in it. As I was whisking the inside filling, I kept having to add more milk. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States