Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MEMONS
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've never had whoopie pies before and made some adjustments as others have indicated. I added a small package of vanilla instant pudding (was all I had on hand) to the mix. I also altered the filling by using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening and used 2 cups powdered sugar instead of the 1 cup of white sugar. I used 2tsp of vanilla extract. I used 3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of whipping cream to give it a more thickness. I also strained the milk/flour mixture as I had small bits of flour in my mix. Overall, they were OK. I'd probably cut the powdered sugar down to 1 1/2 cups next time as it was a bit too sweet (my fault for altering it though). I also decided to just cut my cakes in half and make sandwhiches that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Made these for a bake sale at work and they were all gone! Had several people come back and ask to order more! Followed the suggestion to add the pudding to the cake mix and it worked like a charm. Used another suggestion and made a peanut butter filling instead of the one here and it was delish! Simple & easy to make. Going to make them again in a few weeks for my 6 year old's Bday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerzeeegirll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I used a different recipe for the cake. I only used the filling recipe because I had no confectioners sugar (which is what the other recipe required) the filling was ok, just a tad flour-y but otherwise it was sweet and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Great and easy recipe! Did not care for the shortening in the filling so I substituted 2 sticks of softened butter.....FABULOUS! Not waxy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Everything is great, but all the complaints about the cakes coming out flat etc.... here's a solution, make your own. Cake/Cookie 1/2 cup shortening 1 cup sugar 2 eggs 1 tsp vanilla 1 cup buttermilk 1/2 cup cocoa 2 cups flour 1 tsp baking soda 1 tsp baking powder 1/2 tsp salt Cream together shortening, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and buttermilk. Add the cocoa, flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. (Mixture will be VERY thick.) Put on a cookie sheet with a tablespoon. Bake @ 350 for 10 minutes. When done, lay on wax paper to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
thought the first round tasted a little floury...added some additional cocoa powder, sugar and it helped. used the peanut butter frosting recipe also on this site and they were REALLY great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I loved these. My only problems were that I felt the filling was a little Idk.. too sugary maybe. I might try one of the many other filling options I've heard of. I was expecting something very hostess and it was a bit sweet for me. Also the filling made SOOOO much. I had a bowl of filling in my fridge that I didn't need. But what a wonderful idea and i'll definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My 5 year old LOVED these!! I did add a small box of choco jello instant pudding. Also, after trying the filling recipe in this recipe I decided to try on of the other reviewers recipes. I used 2 egg white, 1 C. butter, 1 lb. confectioners sugar, 1 t. vanilla, 4 T. flour, and 4 T. milk. When I put the filling in, I rolled the cookies in sprinkles. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talulu84
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is such a simple, yet amazing recipe! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talulu84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Essentially shortening and sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States