Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Are you kidding? With the same amount of work, one could produce a better tasting and authentic product from scratch. These are not whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I love whoopie pies. I buy them all the time at market. So when I came across this one using a cake mix I thought, how easy is this. First thing I did was read all the reviews. I do this before I make anything. I noticed MANDY added more flour, SHANN said hers were flat and TOOSWEETPEAS wants hers nice and poofy. My suggestions: follow the directions on the box, keep the water at 3/4 cup. Blend all ingredients together. Beat one minute on medium speed, stop mixer and add a SMALL BOX OF JELLO INSTANT PUDDING MIX. Beat another minute. Your batter will be thick, not runny. Drop batter using a cookie scooper. Bake around 14 minutes or when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Your cakes will be perfectly round and NOT flat. I fill my pies using a peanut butter filling. To make the filling you DO NOT have to cook the flour and milk over the stove. What I do is I mix ALL the ingredients together except the shortening. I add this last and I use Criso butter flavor shortening. You keep adding crisco until the filling is nice and fluffy. You can substitute peanut butter in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shann
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
These were very tasty. My cakes came out a litte flatter than I would have liked, regardless of the size - made some smaller and some larger to see if it would make a difference. I was expecting them to look a bit more like the pies you buy in the supermarket Deli's - and was marginally disappointed when they didn't. However - the taste more than makes up for it. I did submit a picture for anyone interested in checking it out. I too followed JENDP's icing recipe and was not disappointed - simple and great tasting and the consistency was perfect. No more time consuming really than making a batch of cookies as the little cakes cook just about as long. I avg'd 8 to 12 mins depending on size. Definately worth a try. My family really enjoyed them - and you can make them the perfect size to match your needs. I made smaller ones for the kids and bigger ones for hubby. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Made these for my son's birthday treat at school and they loved them! I doubled the recipe and I had a problem with my cakes being nice and poofy. They were flatter and more like the consistency of Little Debbie oatmeal cream pies. Does anyone know how I can fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
made these the other day, family loved them. I divided the filling in half and mixed about a half a can of cocholate frosting into it, it made for a very light not to sweet cocholate filling, I think the next time I make them I will do the whole batch with the cocholate filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Delicious. I baked my devil's food circles for about 12 minutes (the recipe and the reviews did not state how long) I also followed JENDP's suggestion about the icing and I am glad that I did. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is for sure the closest thing to the real Amish Whoopie pies I am so fond of from New York! I did add a little flour to the batter and dropped by the teaspoon onto parchment paper, makes a lot easier. Don't forget to use only 3/4 cup water and add the box of choc. pudding. It helps the firm up the batter so that they're not flat. And be careful when dropping them on your cookie sheet so they won't spread. And the filling isn't that great tasting till you add it to the cakes, that is where the magic happens! I think I added a little marsh fluff for good measure too! Great recipe! Thanks! :) I don't know of a "from scratch" recipe, but please share if you do! I'd love to try and see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I have to say that I didn't use this recipe, but one that my foster mother gave to me. I remember her making these when I lived with her and she would use them for fun ice cream sandwiches. Now that I am 26 with 6 children, I wanted to give my children those same memories so now I make them. I however do feel that this recipe is a very good one. the recipe I have doesn't use the devil's food cake mix as the base, but all in all its all the same! Enjoy them and have fun with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it said and these were wonderful! I had one for lunch and I am going to try and resist eating the rest because they need to make it to my daughter's bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've tried different recipes, but I'll use this one from now on! The cake mix makes it easy and delicious. I used a stick of softened butter and half a cup shortening for the filling. I have to say that I wasn't crazy about the cakes when I first assembled them, but they were amazing out of the refrigerator the next day! My co-worker had fond memories of whoopie pies from her childhood, and I thought she'd be hard to please. She thought these tasted even better than the ones she remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States