Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Great recipe, I did follow the advice of others and used a box of chocolate jello in the mix. My cakes came out moist and held their shape nicely. The filling was anpther story - had no flavor to me, all I could taste was the shortening....so I doctored it up with an extra tsp of vanilla and a cup of confectioners sugar, whipped it up and it was perfect!! The cakes were a huge hit with everyone. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
It would have been good if the recipe said to use Jell-O in the mix. The cakes came out very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Yum, these were great. I added a box of choc. pudding mix to the cake batter, after reading some of the reviews. Baked on parchment used a pampered chef cookie scoop, got 18 whoopie pies.Mine took 11 min. to bake. Have made filling lots of times for various desserts. Make as stated and let chill, its perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Awesome recipe! Everyone at my house LOVED them. I did take some advice from other reviewers & added a box of Jell-O pudding to the cake mix. I also used the other filling (using egg whites, flour, shortening, conf. sugar) that was recommended by others. I definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My 11 yr old daughter loved making these-very easy to follow however the cakes were a bit flat. With the filling we followed mamabailey's recipe which was VERY good. All in all, a very easy and yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
These were unbelievably simple. And better than I really expected, wow! They disappeared fast. Much better than store bought for sure. 3.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I made these according to the directions (although I only had white cake mix so I added cocoa powder) and the cakes came out great. For the icing, I made standard buttercream icing and added marshmallow cream. Very yummy! They are even better the next day! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I've tried this recipe a number of times. I have found that adding 2-4 tbsp of flour helps to keep it from sticking. I've also found that letting the batter sit for a little bit helps give it more of a shape. And the filling recipe I use is 1/2 c. shortening, 1 1/4 c. confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 or 2 tbsp milk, 3/4 c. marshmallow fluff. Add more fluff to make it thicker. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brook, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Are you kidding? With the same amount of work, one could produce a better tasting and authentic product from scratch. These are not whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I love whoopie pies. I buy them all the time at market. So when I came across this one using a cake mix I thought, how easy is this. First thing I did was read all the reviews. I do this before I make anything. I noticed MANDY added more flour, SHANN said hers were flat and TOOSWEETPEAS wants hers nice and poofy. My suggestions: follow the directions on the box, keep the water at 3/4 cup. Blend all ingredients together. Beat one minute on medium speed, stop mixer and add a SMALL BOX OF JELLO INSTANT PUDDING MIX. Beat another minute. Your batter will be thick, not runny. Drop batter using a cookie scooper. Bake around 14 minutes or when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Your cakes will be perfectly round and NOT flat. I fill my pies using a peanut butter filling. To make the filling you DO NOT have to cook the flour and milk over the stove. What I do is I mix ALL the ingredients together except the shortening. I add this last and I use Criso butter flavor shortening. You keep adding crisco until the filling is nice and fluffy. You can substitute peanut butter in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States