Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
We loved these. I did add the pudding to the cake mix. I also DID use the filling as written. I also have a recipe for Puff Pastry Pillows that uses the same filling and we love it. Big hit at our cookout! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I used a Strawberry cake mix, added vanilla instant pudding and 3 tbsp. of flour, and a teaspoon of strawberry extract, and they were the most awesome strawberry whoopie pies ever!!! I used my own buttercream for the filling. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
YUM! I doubled the recipe... added 2 boxes of devils food Jell-O pudding powder and used whole milk instead of the water. I also used a previous reviewers filling recipe which is MUCH better than the once in this recipe! This makes a lot of filling, so even with the doubled recipe I only make 1 batch. FILLING: 2 egg whites, 1C butter, 1 lb box of confectioners sugar, 1 tsp Vanilla, 4 tbs flour and 4 tbs whole milk. I also added 1/2 a package of mini chocolate chips. And, I agree... MUCH tastier the next day after a night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Soo yummy! I made 75 of these for a jr. hi youth group and they loved them! I used a small sized mechanical Ice Cream scoop to plop perfect even sized portions of batter onto the cookie sheet and they all turned out the same size. This was a great treat that brings back lots of memories, the kids called them Whoopie Cushion Pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I prepared the cake mix as the BOX stated then I added 3 tbsp. of self rising flour and a large box of instant chocolate pudding. I shaped the little cakes into the size of a tangerine. Then baked. I did not like the filling in the recipe or the other fillings in the reviews. (They were too heavy, too greasy and I did not like the idea of raw egg whites.) So I played around with the filling and this is what I came up with: Mix 16 oz. powdered sugar, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup margarine and 2 tsp. vanilla extract. Do NOT use Crisco with butter...it was gross. After all was cooled, I cut in half, dolloped filling and wrapped in saran wrap to sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have loved whoopie pies ever since I was a little girl and was so excited to see the recipe. I was very disappointed. The cakes did turn out well, I added the pudding packages like the other reviews had said but the creme filling was terrible. I felt as if i was eating pure grease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These are very yummy! I wish I had read the reviews first because the cake part of my pies came out completely flat. Next time I'll add the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
mmmmm...very good! I followed the suggestion of others and added jello pudding to the mix...for what it's worth, I used the instant chocolate fudge pudding. The filling was also a hit, it made more than I thought it would. However, I did have to add about 1/4 more of sugar and a cap full more of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Great recipe, I did follow the advice of others and used a box of chocolate jello in the mix. My cakes came out moist and held their shape nicely. The filling was anpther story - had no flavor to me, all I could taste was the shortening....so I doctored it up with an extra tsp of vanilla and a cup of confectioners sugar, whipped it up and it was perfect!! The cakes were a huge hit with everyone. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
It would have been good if the recipe said to use Jell-O in the mix. The cakes came out very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States