Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are absolutely fabulous! I made them for a friend's b-day and everyone loved them. Served it with the Orange-Pineapple punch from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Fabulous! My kids loved these! I only had butter flavored shortening, but it turned out great! Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly with no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Made these for my daughter's bake sale at school. They were he first thing off the table! I find all this stuff sweet, but let's face it, I'm really making it for the kids. They all give it a thumbs up. When you'e making something in large quantity like for a bake sale, I want it fast and easy. this one does it for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
My husband and I really liked these. I followed the recipe exactly and the taste was very close to the whoopie pies we get whenever we're in New England. My only critique is that the cream filling had a slight aftertaste of something I can't quite put my finger on, maybe from the shortening? I will make these again and play with the filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I love these. Kids love them. I took these to a church function and the kids loved them more than the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I've never had nor made Whoopie Pies but thought I'd give it a try and these were fabulous. I did add the large box of chocolate pudding. I was VERY concerned about the filling - it just sounds gross. But I made it exactly as written in this recipe and refrigerated overnight. They were wonderful! The one confusing thing for me was that I had a lot of filling left over (I made two batches on two separate days with the same result). Perhaps I wasn't putting enough in but it sure seemed like a lot. My kids LOVED these. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
These were wonderful. I used a devils food cake with the pudding already in the mix, so they came out very moist and fluffy. I was nervous at first when I tasted the filling plain because it seemed a bit overpowering with the taste of vanilla, but when put on the cakes, it taste just great. I did add a little more sugar to the shortning. Thanks for the great recipe Amy. I will definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Just made these last night and they turned out great. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to add a box of chocolate jello instant pudding. I made the filling as the recipe stated. There was just enough filling. They did tasted wonderful after a night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
These were really really good! As suggested by a reviewer, I added a box of Jello Instant Choc Pudding Mix and the cakes came out perfect (moist and delicious). I also used the reviewer's suggestion on the filling (1 box of confectioner sugar, 1 cup of shortening etc). The only problem I thought I had with the filling was when I was done whipping it, I tasted it and the shortening was over powering and didn't taste that great (seemed like way too much shortening). But when I assembled it together with the cakes I didn't taste the shortening, so in the end it came out great. Although, the next time I make these, I think I will cut down on the shortening... My husband really liked the whoopie pies which made me happy! :) Thanks to Amy for the recipe and to the reviewers for your suggestions, they were very helpful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
The cake part was easy and delicious. I added a box of pudding mix as other reviews suggested. I cooked at 350 for 12 minutes. I also used the following Frosting recipe as suggested. 1 Box conf sugar, 2 egg whites, 1 Cup Shortening, 1 Teaspoon Vanilla, 4 Tablespoons Milk, 4 Tablespoons Flour and mix. YUMMY I also found it easier to wrap them in saran wrap after the were frozen on a cookie sheet in freezer for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States