Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Everyone loved these. Was a little time consuming trying to drop the batter into perfect circles onto cookie sheets but it was all worth it. Adding the box of instant pudding jello mix really makes the difference I think. For the filling, I used: 2 egg whites, 1 c butter flavored Crisco, 1 lb box confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 tb flour, and 4 tb milk. Everyone raved about the soft and moist cakes and even more so about the creamy filling. As other reviewers stated, tasted great after refrigerated! I tried to individually wrap some in saran wrap, but found that it left a weird imprint of the saran wrap on the cakes. I'm picky w/ presentation, so I just put them all on a plate and saran wrapped the whole plate to avoid weird imprints. I guess people can avoid the weird imprints if you can wrap your whoopies pies perfectly, but I couldn't! Will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I love these especially with a pkg of pudding mix to make it even moister. My kids take these over the oreo cakesters any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
i tried this recipe because it got so many good reviews but was really disappointed with it. i followed the directions on the box of devils food cake mix and not only did the come out flat, but the cake didn't taste like any of the whoopie pies i've ever had. Also, even though I beated the filling for a good amount of time, for some reason i couldn't get it smooth because the sugar just clumped up. If anyone has better recipes, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These Whoopie Pies were the best! I used the jello mix, and 3/4 cups of water, along with other directions and they were perfect! The cream I used a different recipe, but all in all they were just like a bakery Whoopie Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We wanted to try this recipe for a fundraising sale. As a prior wedding cake maker, I tend to use all top ingredients while baking. I made this recipe the first time with a brand name cake mix (with pudding in mix) The cakes turned out great, seemed just like when we make them from scratch. Some of the other people on the fundraising committee thought we should try using a cheap cake mix. The cakes turned out totally different. Not horrible, just different. As for the filling...I used half butter and half shortening. I followed the directions exactly after that. I did add some marshmallow fluff. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Going back to my old recipe with the marshmellow cream filling. Cookies came out flat, frosting had a weird taste. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
So good. I used a Butter Recipe Chocolate cake mix which is really fluffy on its own. I added about 1/2 a box of chocolate pudding to it. I used the recommendations on the site for the filling... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I love the ease creating this dough. However, I kinda blew it with the filling. I attempted to make the filling by just reading the ingredients & dumping everything in the mixer. Oops! I realized there was more to the directions when I had alot of milk to still add. So, I whipped what was in the bowl real well, added a bit more conf sugar, and whipped real well again. It still tasted ok & was light with a melt in your mouth texture. I had to "fill" somewhat sparingly but the end result was still a big hit. I will, read the directions carefully next time to "fill" the cookies properly. Thanks for an easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
It's 8:00 in the morning here and I just finished baking these. How easy using the cake mix as the base. I also added a box of instant chocolate pudding and they turned out great. How well I remember baking these from scratch for m three sons and being tired after making them because I always had to double the batch. This recipe is great!!!! I also used the recipe for the filling but I add a teaspoon of almond extract. Can't wait for my co-workers to try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe, (using only 3/4 cup water) along with the suggestions of adding a box of instant pudding mix. (I used a small box of instant chocolate pudding.) However, they came out flat! They tasted delicious....but they completely flattened out while baking. Does anyone know why this could have happened and how I could correct this???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States