Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I thought that the frosting had an overall good taste, but you have to stir it a lot before the texture is right, good recipie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Used the cream recipe from here and the southern moon pies cookie from this website. it turned out pretty good. Had problems getting the texture right though. It just wasnt smooth. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Thanks for sharing your recipe and all those who added hints~they were VERY helpful. I made a double batch of these tonight after not being able to find my from scratch recipe. These were a LOT quicker to make than my recipe and were yummy. I did add the instant pudding other reviewers had suggested and baked the cake portion for 11 minutes at 325 on top of parchment paper. Having said that, my oven runs 25 degrees hot so I adjust all bake temps down to account for my ovens overheating problem. I also made a double batch of peanut butter filling by using 2 pounds confectioners sugar, 4 egg whites, 2 tsp vanilla, 1 cup shortening, 1 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup flour and about 1/2 cup milk. I had about a cup and a half of filling left over. I just looked at the filling again since filling and putting the pies in the freezer----looks like I should have gone with a bit more flour and 1 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup peanut butter. Any way, thanks to all who took the time to add their revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
pastry is very good., but I am looking for a better frosting, which contains marshmellow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My family loved this recipe and I had fun making them. I read all the variations on the filling and settled on HOTREDONE'S. They turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Great base recipe! I took the advice of llwolf and added a box of devil's food jello pudding mix and it was wonderful! I've made this recipe several times and to change things up I used a red velvet cake mix as the shells sans the pudding mix and was just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipie is the best I've tried for Whoopie pies, especially when you add the box of Jello to make them puffy and round like llwolf suggested. However I find if you add the jello before mixing they tend to be smoother and not crack on the top while cooking. Additionally I cooked them for 16 minutes as they seemed to fall when undercooked. I really loved Mommabaileys recipie for the filling it was sweet enough and not greasy at all. It was absolutely fabulous. As a very busy working mom I liked this recipie for the ease of putting it together and how quickly I could complete them. I made them for my daughters brownie troop and they voted me mom for snacks in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Great & easy! I did add 1 box of instant pudding as some suggest and using a Pampered Chef cookie scoop got 20 whoopie pies out of the batch. I won't serve raw egg whites, so I used mommabailey's filling and it was perfect. Next time I'll whip it up longer to increase the volume, but I was in a hurry this time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Tasted good, but very flat. I used a strawberry cake mix that might have been the problem. Didn't use this filling recipe either.**REVISED** Made again using strawberry cake mix and sm pkg vanilla pudding, much better texture to the cakes with the pudding, also used the mommabailey recipe for filling, only I added twice as much powdered sugar and the entire 7oz of marsh. fluff, milk as needed to smooth it out. These were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Our family couldn't stop eating these!!! I won't make them again soon only because they won't last and we're trying to eat a wee bit healthier. Next time I need a sweet treat, it will be this delightful yummy that I will turn to. I did use some of the other tips...adding pudding mix to the cake mix to firm up the cookie. Also used another reader's stovetop-free filling mix. I might play around with various fillings that were suggested. However it is done, this is easy and wonderful. Refridgerating these makes them even better...we even froze 1/2 of the pies and they were good eaten directly from the freezer too! It made a fairly mess-free treat for my preschool aged kiddos to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States