Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I love this recipe! They taste great and look incredible. I added 1/2 cup extra cocoa powder because I wanted it to be more chocolaty. But otherwise it was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Tasty and attractive. I use a small ice cream scoop (#50 - 1.25Tbs) to form the cookies and silicon sheets to line the baking sheet. It's fast, easy, and makes perfectly formed 2.5" diameter cookies. I fit 24 cookies onto a full sized sheet pan (18"x26"). With the #50 scoop, this recipe makes exactly 100 cookies (50 cookie sandwiches). For full flavor, absolutely do not leave out the salt. Salt is not superfluous in baking, it deepens the flavor. In fact, I increase the salt in this recipe by 1/2tsp (1.5tsp total) and it makes a better cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
These were very good. Except the filling was waaay too sweet, so the 2nd time I made them I used 1 C flour and only 3 C of confectioners sugar. They were much better that way but still just a hair too sweet so next time I might cut another 1/2 C of confectioners sugar out of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very easy for my first whoopie pie making experience. Very simple and came out AMAZING.. needless to say they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The only word to describe these was AMAZING. I made these for party in conjunction with some pumpkin Whoopie Pies from this site as I wasn't sure everyone would like pumpkin and they were both sooo good. I can't wait to make these again. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Excellent, tastes exactly like the ones from Lancaster, PA (where I grew up). Soooo good but Soooo bad for you. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I used 3 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 4, since I felt it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Trachtenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I bake for a living & these tasted pretty good! plenty of cocoa flavor. I sifted the cocoa, flour, etc before adding. I couldn't stop sampling the batter! It was sooo good. I followed a few tips from others reviewers. I added 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar instead of the 2 cups of white sugar. I also prefer butter to shortening but, I appreciate the lift shortening brings. So, I added half butter and half shortening. I tried a greased pan but it resulted in flattened cakes. The pan used with parchment paper gave me thicker cakes that didn't spread much. I also felt that they were a bit dry when baked at 400 degrees for 8 minutes. But, I did use my small batter scooper(3/4 tblspn). I only baked two pans worth about 8 per pan. I'm thinking about adding a little espresso powder to the remaining batter. For the filling I used a marshmallow fluff recipe shared by one of the reviewers of the Oatmeal Whoopies. Once I put them together I froze them for about 20 minute to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetchoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I only made the cookie portion as I used homemade marshmallow fluff for the filling. I used my #50 scoop and got 62 cookies or 31 sandwiches, needed 10 minutes to bake, parchment paper is a must as they are very soft cookies. I added 1 tsp of espresso powder to the hot water to bump up the chocolate taste. I omitted the salt as I find baking soda very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This rating is for the base, which was good for whoopie pies, everyone loved them ( I used a different filling made from marshmallow fluff). I used a #40 scoop and the recipe made 33 double cookies (66 total). Outside edges were nicely crisp, inside delightfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States