Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I've tried a lot of whoopie pie recipes and this is the best one I have found. I will be using it from now on. The cookie part took 8 minutes to cook just as the recipe stated. The filling came out perfect, not runny like a lot I have tried. Five stars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The best whoopie pie recipe! The filling is perfect and easierand tastier than the cooked version I was used to. We wrap filled "pies" individually in plastic wrap and freeze. Some of my family like them best frozen. Note: these are referred to as "Gobs" in some parts of Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Great recipe! These taste just like the whoopie pies I remember from my childhood. I wasn't sure about the icing at first, but it tasted great after chilling the filled pies in the fridge. This is the recipe I've been searching for, and will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
They taste just as I remember them! The filling was very smooth and light. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! They taste just like the ones in the expensive fancy bakery near my office. My coworker said he couldn't tell the difference. Delicious and very simple to bake and store. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I find these cookies extremely sweet. Delicious, still, but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
These are great! Just like my moms recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
These are very good, easy to make however the frosting filling tasted too much like confectionary sugar. Maybe it a little cream cheese was put in the mix it would be better. I made them way tooo big. These are very sweet. Next time I will make them the size of an oreo not the size of my hand. My 7 year old son had one and finished about 3/4 of one and started to feel sick from it being so sweet. It made about 16 large pies which I froze 8 of. I ran out of syranwrap so I put 4 pies in a dish, placed wax paper over them and put 4 more on top put the lid on the dish and froze them. I'm looking forward to trying them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
OMG these were so good! This was the first whoopie pie recipe I have tried and I can say a won't be looking for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Delicious! They were even better the second day after refridgerating over night. Also, the batter spreads a lot so you don't need to use much for one pie. These taste similar to Oreo Cakesters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem12881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States