Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
the cream filling is VERY sweet! i increased the amount of flour in the batch to tone it down. this made the filling much thicker was well, which was good becuase mine came out a bit too runny, not sure why. fun recipe, serving at a BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muttssoup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is exactly the frosting I was looking for - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I didn't get to eat any of these myself but my family ate them ALL. Everyone they let try them wanted the recipe and raved on them... Good Job !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sue Loucks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
there are lots of whoopie pie recipes out there and i have tried many. This is our favorite. A true whoopie pie..I find that i prefer them baked at 375 for 6 1/2 minutes. I would not leave out the egg whites but next time i may add less because it thinned out the filling more than i would have liked. I will fold them in a little at a time until i am happy with the consistency. Beware that this recipe makes a lot. Tablespoon sized cakes are actually quite small for whoopie pies. Don't be afraid to use all the filling. Whoopie pies are meant to be stuffed full (i could have probably made 1 1/2 x the filling)! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I am NOT REVIEWING THE COOKIE in the recipe JUST THE FILLING...That being said...I use it on my oatmeal raisin cookies and chocolate chip.Kid's and adult's like them and i always get rave reviews.I wrap in plastic wrap and toss them in the freezer untill we are ready to go and they thaw out great by the time we are ready to eat them.We take them along for our picnics or snacks on trips.It is almost the same buttercream icing i use when decorating my cakes...Instead of real egg white's i use meringue powder.Works the same as real egg whites but you wont be taking a chance and getting sick.Another things i do differantly is add 1 tsp butter flavored extract & instead of milk i use cream--It really cuts the sweetness to the icing!So, if you find it to sweet...Just a helpful hint to help you out,Use cream instead of milk and add 1 tsp butter flavored extract :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I've never made whoopie pies before so i have nothing to compare it to. But judging from other people's reviews and Mr.Wiki I pretty much managed to figure what these would turn out like. They were good, I did lessen the sugar to 3/4 cup (I half the original amount)because some said it was really sweet. I also added cinnamon and all spice for extra umph (I was a bit sick of the plain chocolate taste). The consistency was thick enough to be piped, so that you'll get a more even shape ( I figured that out half way baking 'em - duhh!) Didn't make the filling, used peanut butter buttercream instead and they became super-super good! Will make them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought these were very good. The cookies had the texture of cake. The only thing i did not like about the recipe is that the icing in the middle was too runny but i think this might be because i used margarine instead of shortening. Next time i will use shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
We love the Oreo cake-like cookies and these are better! My husband was raving about these. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
WOW! What an incredible dessert! The only thing I didn't do was add the egg whites at the end cuz my filling was already fluffy and thick. I really didn't want to mess it up! I used dark cocoa for this recipe. The cake part was so rich. This recipe will so enhance my reputation! Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These were soooo DELICIOUS! And super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States