Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These are high maintenance but delicious. I made this for my son's football bake sale fundraiser and everyone loved them. I'll make these again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Amazing! My only change was with the filling. What are whoopie pies without peanut butter filling?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good. The gob part was very chocolatey and they werent big and puffy. Didnt make the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy! My girlfriend Liz who is from Lebanon, PA had a birthday party and requested I bring these. Actually, she wanted her favorite cake which is Black Joe Cake with Peanut Butter icing, but she is watching her figure so I made these for her in miniature form. She loved them! I did substitute the water for hot black coffee and made peanut butter icing instead of vanillla. The result was superb! Thank you Nancy for sharing your recipe; it was stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
never tried them before and I'm not a fan of chocolate (unlike the rest of the household) but these were great! I like the idea of piping the mix as the pies got increasingly larger as I made them in batches. Didn't use the filling as I made buttercream with extra butter flavouring which worked really well - also like the idea of adding spice to the chocolate mix. Making more today so they must've been good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe, much like you'd find in your grandmother cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atc_dp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These were an unqualified disaster. I followed the recipe exactly except for doubling it and subbing 1 Tbl. vinegar plus 1 c. milk for each cup of sour milk. They turned out like hard, dry, crumbly tasteless lumps of coal. Didn't spread AT ALL and had more of cookie (albeit a stale cookie)-like texture than the cake-like texture that whoopie pies should have. I'm a pretty experienced baker, but I have no idea why this didn't work for me at all, when it obviously has worked for others in the past. Didn't bother making the filling since the cookies were so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
The cake part was not very flavorful, and the frosting was watery and a little chunk, would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
The recipe was easy to follow and they looked beautiful, but the cookie part was kind of bland. After tasting the first batch and wishing they were sweeter, I added 1/2 c of sugar to the 2nd batch and they came out flatter so I wouldn't recommend that. The frosting, however is deliciously sweet so I would definitely use that recipe again. (Oh, but I did leave out the egg whites and it turned out well!) All in all, decent recipe and they were fun to make. Beware though, as noted before, it does make a big batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
The sandwich cookies tasted not even sweet. I guess the point is that you're suppose to eat it with the filling. But don't get me started on the filling! It tasted like shortening and sugar. That's it. Will never make it again. Bakers Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States