Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This review is for the cakes, not the cream. Although the texture was 5 stars, the flavor was 'meh'. Looked good, felt good, fell flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Loved by everyone. Only downfall, the cookies can be a bit crumbly/messy. Definitely a keeper recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were excellent! I made them just how the recipe called for and wouldn't change a thing! I did beat the eggs until soft peaks were forming...and then mixed it in. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Professional MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Was OK, something just didn't feel/taste right. Followed recipe to the T except sour milk, used 1 cup milk with a TSP of vinegar. Pie tasted floury/dough like, think it was lacking sweetener of some sort. Filling was a bit over sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Not quite the same; a little too... 'light'?? Tasted airy, maybe not sweet enough? Something about the filling that seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I think these are pretty good - really 3 1/2 stars... I think the cookie could use a bit more flavor and I think I would have preferred the filling without the beaten egg whites - anyone know why that's in there? I did use butter (instead of shortening) in the filling just b/c I had already used shortening in the cookie and I just couldn't use that much! Overall good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were so good. I followed the recipe exactly and used a small cookie scoop to make all the same sized cookies. Just like I remember my mom making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These whoopies were exactly like they're supposed to be. The only things I did differently was use 1 cup regular milk and 1 tsp. vinegar, because I didn't have sour milk and I used probably less than half the sugar for the frosting. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicolen
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used this recipe for the cookie part but not the frosting. It was out of this world. It made so many I spent an hour driving them around my neighborhood giving them to friends. Wow, were they great though. The cookies themselves were totally delish on their own also. I used a filling made with marshmallow fluff and... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I have never made whoopie pies before, and have eaten maybe 1 or 2 in my life. I wouldn't consider my myself an expert baker either. I made my first batch exactly like the recipe, using lemon in my milk(sour milk), and beating the eggs to a froth (icing). They turned out perfect & baked exactly in 8 min as instructed. Short of putting a lock on my fridge, my family was begging for more! I thought they were good, but since I was born with an insanely sweet tooth, I felt the cookies could be a bit sweeter so I decided to make a second batch. I added 2c mini chocolate chips to the batter before baking. I also made and used two batches of icing to 1 batch of pies. They were DIVINE and will satisfy any sweet tooth extremist to their hearts content, even without the alterations!!! I'm definitely adding this to my recipe collection! I will be fighting the urge to not dig in to the almost 6 doz pies sitting in my fridge once my kids get in bed tonight! I'm donating to a fundraiser, and a football team. For their sake, I hope I can control myself for the next 18 hrs! I also LOVE that this recipe makes so many at once. I pretty much got 36 out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States