Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
These are sooooooo good, you will not want to share. Love them, Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I really liked this recipe. It was simple, easy, and delicious. I added 3 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 4 and 1 1/2 cups of white sugar instead of 2. I read other reviews that said that this was a little too sweet so I added a little less and it came out really good. Not too sweet. To the filling I added chocolate chips and that just made this recipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I grew up in Lancaster PA (Amish country, where whoopie pies originated) and this is the exact same recipe I have from my Grandma. It is delicious and tastes just like hers! I've tried them with marshmallow creme and my husband and I both preferred this recipe. The egg whites are the key to the frosting--they make it fluffy and different from regular cake icing. Most of the "trendy" whoopie pies I've seen have flat, runny centers. (However, if you are unsure that your egg whites are safe to eat raw, then obviously it would be better to use the creme or egg white substitution).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These were exceptional! Even better after chilled in refrigerator. They freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMI426
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These are awsome. I used buttermilk instead of sour milk and 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup shorteing instead of 1cup shorting for the cakes. This make a lot of whoopies. I got 55! Will try a cream cheese filling next time. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The 5 stars are for the cookies they are very good, I tried another recipe and this is better by far. And now for the frosting, it was fine until I added the beaten egg whites which didn't fold in so I beat them in. Does the powdered egg white make a difference? Anyway...this filling is much nicer than the marshmallow cream one which is too sweet. God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabeno, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birnamwood, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe and I was excited to make it. However, I was dissapointed. I followed the recipe exactly. The cake portion seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I used this recipe for the chocolate cake part but not the filling since I didn't have any confectioner's sugar. I'm eating a whoopie pie as I'm writing this review hehe. These are really good but since I didn't have shortening, never do, I used butter and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. These came out really moist and chocolately :) Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These are perfect! It makes a lot though, so I send some to work with my husband! They all love them! Thanks for the recipe! As good as my Nana used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made these and the recipe for the cookie-cakes was absolutely amazing. the only thing i did diffently was add a tsp of vinegar to milk because i didnt have sour milk. but i didnt like the filling-even after adding more vanilla and more sugar it was still missing something next time i make these i will look up a recipe for buttercream frosting i will definately make these again(with a different filling of course) =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States