Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very yummy and easy to make. Really sweet, will make smaller next time and then will have many to give away or freeze. Girls enjoyed making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I had really high hopes for these based on all the rave reviews. The cookie was just plain bland. It was missing something -- certainly didn't have a chocolatey flavor. I bake frequenty and use quality ingredients so I'm not really sure what the problem was. I didn't make the filling because I had marshmallow fluff left over from another recipe so I just used that. I think I would be willing to make whoopie pies again but would certainly opt for trying a different cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
delisiouse 100% approved great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendrajoneslovetoanimals2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used a whoopie pie baking pan which helps make them uniform in shape. They tasted like muffin tops. Outside is crisp but inside is moist and soft. I used a simple butter cream recipe for the filling. I would make these over and over again for friends and family. They were gobbled up on Christmas day. AWESOME RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These came out great! Used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white as suggested by a previous reviewer. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were amazing! I've never had a whoopie pie, so can't judge on what they're supposed to taste like, but we loved them! My cakes were very puffy, but good flavor and very moist. Filling was wonderful, and oh so rich! I followed the recipe as written (other than using buttermilk for sour milk and dark cocoa). A couple things that might help others ... a greased cookie sheet may caused these to spread too much, but lining your sheets with parchment paper may help them keep their shape. Also, recipe calls for "beaten egg whites", but someone else mentioned whipping to soft peaks, which is what I did ... that's what helps give the filling the light fluffy texture. Already planning on making these again for a Christmas open house next weekend. Thanks for introducing me to this wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were awesome! I made a dark chocolate peppermint version (below). They have the perfect cake-to-filling ration. Easy to make and put together. My guests all loved them and requested another batch at christmastime. Revision: I used DARK coco instead of regular. For the filling I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla. When filling them I colored 1/2 of the icing with red and left the other half white. Then i swirled them for a festive peppermint-stick look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is how I remember whoopies as a kid. The filling is great. Not too sweet and not to flat. I followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I didn't like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc.dunn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was a excellent whoopie pie recipe. I changed just two things one was using half butter and half shortening and the other was making them red velvet whoopie pies instead of chocolate. I didn't use the filling recipe instead I made a cream cheese filling from this site the Whipped Cream Cheese frosting by Tom. These were delicious and I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissanddave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States