Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
So, I attempted to make some strawberry shortcake fudge for Valentine's Day baskets. I was terribly upset when it refused to set up- it tasted delicious, but fudge it was not. Out of nowhere, like a beacon in the darkness, I had a Eureka moment- whoopie pies! But, I had never made them before, and surely I could never pull it off. With nothing to lose, I opted to try my hand at this recipe. These gorgeous little fluffy rounds of chocolately heaven could not have been simpler to make. I then set to the task of making my "fudge" more frosting-like. I was able to get it to a good, spreadable consistency, and filled the little whoopie pies with the strawberry yuminess. I found I had to tightly wrap them immediately in plastic wrap in order to stop them from sliding, and then they set up beautifully in the fridge. This creation is a bona fide masterpiece. It is too bad I am not likely to ever be able to recreate it (with my luck, when I go to try the fudge again it will work, since I actually won't want it to)!!!! But, no matter, for the next time I will try the filling recipe that goes with the cookies in this recipe. I can't wait. These ARE the whoopie pies (gobs) I have been eating and loving ever since I moved to Pennsylvania. They are the real deal, and everyone should make them! Today! Right now! Quit reading, and get in your kitchen! Are you still here? Go! Thanks Nancy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe. I actually used a jar of Fluff in place of the egg whites and flour in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This the best recipe I have come across for whoopie pies, very moist and the cream center is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These were delicious. I got so many compliments on them. People were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These were excellent. I took them to work and they were gone in seconds. Next time, I'll use a cookie scoop to make them more uniform in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Not impressed. The cookies came out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delicious! I only used the cake portion of this recipe- I have my own filling that I like. But the cakes were so moist and even better the next day! However, the tops of the cakes didn't come out perfectly smooth like in the picture, but still delicious all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Soooooo delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made these for my husband for Valentine's Day. He couldn't get enough of them! So good, moist and delicious. I only made one change to the recipe...instead of 1-1/2 cups of butter in the filling, I used 1 cup of butter and 4 oz. of cream cheese. I also misread the directions and put the egg whites in without beating them so did that after they were in the filling mixture. Will DEFINITELY make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Fantastic-my quest for the perfect whoopie pie has come to an end at last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettoothgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States