Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very rich, I think it was too rich! Also there was to much filling for the cakes. The cakes were good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I've never made Whoopie Pies before, so have nothing to compare them to, but I think these are really good. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and they taste great. Nice cake texture, good chocolate flavor. This recipe makes a lot and I couldn't make them all at once. The first batch of each baking session the cookies came out flat. Subsequent batches were round and looked the way they should. I figured out that the baking sheets need to be warm first so I put the baking sheets in the oven when I was pre-heating it. that fixed the problem. I used a different filling recipe so can't rate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe. PA Dutch approved. The cakes were great (not dry at all and nice & chocolate-y); we couldn't stop sniffing the batter, it just smelled so good. The icing was great, too. I made 1/2 a recipe. I didn't use anywhere near as much filling as the photos show, so I had a lot left over. I might have not beaten the egg whites enough or added a bit too much milk/vanilla/shortening vs sugar because our filling was pretty goopy and smooshed out the sides when we ate them, so a quick pop in the freezer or fridge fixed that. Will definitely make again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yummy. Jeff loved these. 1/2 recipe is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
i made the cookies and they were very dry and did not taste good at all i never gonna make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were the PERFECT whoopie pie cookies! They were moist without falling apart, not dry at all. I made some very little to make mini whoopie pies for my son and some bigger for the adults and both sizes cooked very well. I did not use the filling shown here, as I had a ton of buttercream frosting left from another project that I tweaked and made into filling. So I can't review that part. But the cookies I will most definately use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These are sooooo good. The 'pie' part is incredibly moist and delicious; while I liked the cream filling, I think I'll cut back on the sugar next time as they were a little bit too sweet for me. Took the advice of other reviewers who suggested refrigerating/freezing them - this helped cut the sweetness after they had been allowed to chill for several hours. Will definitely make them again; Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I made these for a bake sale at school. They were a hit at $1.00 a piece! I made them about 3" in diameter. I followed the directions to the T. They were a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The buttermilk was bad, so I used heavy cream instead. (No vinegar.) My husband kept eating the batter! He liked it. :) I had marshmallow creme on hand, so I used it instead of the cream recipe. I cut the recipe down to 12. 3 of them were eaten right away, and the others I wrapped up and put in the freezer. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
We made these recently for some out of town company and they were a huge hit. The only thing I did differently was the frosting - I used regular butter cream icing since I refuse to do anything with raw, uncooked eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States