Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GreenMachine
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These whoopie pies are great! If you like "traditional" whoopie pies, this is the recipe for you. The filling is not a sweet buttercream or marshmallow, but fluffy and just the right sweetness. A few tips based on others' reviews: I do not recommend refrigerating the batter before baking, nor does it require time to sit. This makes the 'cookies' come out more dry. If your batter spreads thin while baking, it is not due to the recipe. One element that is key is the cocoa powder. When measuring this, make sure to pack it down (or at least sift it). This will ensure a very chocolatey flavor and keep your batter from coming out too thin. On a similar note, the filling should not come out thin if prepared correctly. I made this on a very hot and humid day and the filling didn't come out runny. Be sure to beat using a mixer (I even used a hand mixer) for the full 20 minutes. Have faith, the filling will come together! And do give this filling a shot. I'm generally opposed to using shortening, but sometimes it's worth it. This filling was really great and worth a try. Finally, these desserts taste great warm, cool from the fridge, and frozen. But be sure to note that the texture of the 'cookie' changes entirely when put in the fridge or freezer (drier and even drier, respectively). Overall, a great recipe for when you want something *special* that reminds you of your childhood. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I tried several whoopie pie fillings and this one is by FAR the BEST! It tastes just like the cream filling in Devil Dogs. I found the ones with marshmallow fluff to be too sweet - too much like buttercream frosting. This one is perfect - I've gotten rave reviews on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I used the exact ingredients and followed the recipoe as stated however, these were not good at all. The cookie part itself tasted of bitter chocolate and was a little salty. THe cookies also did not spread very much. The filling was very oily looking, the ingredients did not combine well at all. If I was going to make this again I would use a chewy chocolate cookie recipe and a filling that calls for cornstarch and water as a thickening agent added to light cornsyrup, powdered sugar, and vanilla. I will not be making this recipe again. Even my 3 year old whohas never meet anything with sugar she did not like, said mom what is this? No thank you I don't want it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
These are wonderful! Because we have a large group that comes over for Sunday dinner, and we all love chocolate, we doubled the cookie recipe and made a couple of changes: we replace the oil with butter-flavored shortening and added 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate (and one of bittersweet chocolate), melted. Because so many reviews said there wasn't enough filling we tripled the filling recipe, and we used 2/3 butter and 1/3 butter-flavored shortening instead of all shortening. We don't usually use shortening at all, but happened to have some on hand and were low on butter. In any case, they turned out terrific- with not-too-sweet cookies and a fluffy, just-sweet-enough filling. Thank you Byzmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
These were great. Easy to make and not too sweet. The kids loved them. I used butter instead of shortening for the filling because we don't use shortening in our home. They still turned out great. The filling is light, fluffy. We will double the filling recipe the next time as it really didn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Good cookie to make for a snack. I had just enough frosting, but I had to skimp a little on the last few cookies. Be careful when cooking the milk and flour because lumps will remain in frosting. Overall, I was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
These were great! After reading through the reviews, I planned on serving these right from the freezer so I actually mixed a little bit of cool whip into the filling (helps thicken it up a bit too). I also substituted just a little of butter for the shortening. The cookies were great, I didn't think they were lacking in flavor at all.. but even if they were that filling wouldve made up for it, it came out soo rich and creamy. I'll be making this again for sure. By the way, I didnt want to make too many whoopie pies, so I had some leftover cookie batter as well as the filling.. so I made mini cupcakes! they turned out great, I baked them for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
very easy and delicious! I doubled the icing part of the recipe so that I would have a lot for the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe turned out perfect for me! I made the recipe as written and I got 24 large super soft and puffy whoopie pie cookies. I found they taste the best within the first 24 hours of making them. They expand in the oven while baking, so keep that in mind. Looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were great. For the filling you have to make sure you bring the flour and milk mixture to a boil in order to remove the raw flour taste. You also have to beat the filling a good long time when you add in the cooled milk and flour mixture. These actually taste better the next day. At first the filling does simply taste like sugar and shortening but after a day the ingredients meld together and the filling becomes more creamy. If you think the filling tastes too much like bakery icing at first give it a day and you'll see a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States