Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Good cookie to make for a snack. I had just enough frosting, but I had to skimp a little on the last few cookies. Be careful when cooking the milk and flour because lumps will remain in frosting. Overall, I was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
I love this recipe. And when I make it I have to do at least 6 batches because the boys are waiting in line to take a bag home. It looks thin but as it sits it gets thick. I added more flour at first but like it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I tried several whoopie pie fillings and this one is by FAR the BEST! It tastes just like the cream filling in Devil Dogs. I found the ones with marshmallow fluff to be too sweet - too much like buttercream frosting. This one is perfect - I've gotten rave reviews on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
very easy and delicious! I doubled the icing part of the recipe so that I would have a lot for the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Hubby is a self-proclaimed Gob expert and he was skeptical. When they first came out and cooled they were a bit crunchy on the outside and not as moist. The filling was a little too fluffy for him but I can fix that by not whipping it as long. the next day after unwrapping it from the celophane, the bread was nice and soft and moist and he LOVED them! He just wants the filling a little sweeter and less fluffy. But they're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I wasn't sure about this recipe at first but my husband swore that that he loved these gobs. I didn't use the icing part of the recipe though since we both love super sweet icings (I used a buttercream frosting that is on this site instead.) I tried to make this recipe again for fathers day but instead I made it into a gob cake. I accidently put the wrong amount of cocoa in...making it 3/4 cup instead and to compensate I added about an 1/8 cup more milk. I baked the cake till a toothpick came out clean and then let cool and cut the cake in half and put icing in the center. I have never gotten so many compliments...saying it was better than store bought. This recipe is definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLIEDREAMING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blairsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clymer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
The chocolate cookie went together easily and baked according to directions. Where the recipe fails is in the filling. There was no volume and it tasted too much like shortening. I re-read the directions several times, but couldn't see where I may have erred. Suggestion - keep the cookie recipe but find another filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe is what I was looking for. I am not a frosting person so the filling was perfect. Light and fluffy and not too sweet. My husband and my 2 year old loved them not no mention anyone else that tried them. Great recipe and they surely are WHOOPIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
These were great. Easy to make and not too sweet. The kids loved them. I used butter instead of shortening for the filling because we don't use shortening in our home. They still turned out great. The filling is light, fluffy. We will double the filling recipe the next time as it really didn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
These are wonderful! Because we have a large group that comes over for Sunday dinner, and we all love chocolate, we doubled the cookie recipe and made a couple of changes: we replace the oil with butter-flavored shortening and added 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate (and one of bittersweet chocolate), melted. Because so many reviews said there wasn't enough filling we tripled the filling recipe, and we used 2/3 butter and 1/3 butter-flavored shortening instead of all shortening. We don't usually use shortening at all, but happened to have some on hand and were low on butter. In any case, they turned out terrific- with not-too-sweet cookies and a fluffy, just-sweet-enough filling. Thank you Byzmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States