Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My hubby and son loved them.. i did have to double the filling too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wings22
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. The first batch that came out was really bland so i added some more sugar and cocoa to the batter. This helped a little but not a whole lot, and i would defiantly recommend using a different frosting. This frosting almost felt like it was sliding down your throat. I tried to save it by adding powdered sugar and some peanut butter. I managed to save it from the garbage. Overall it was OK but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were great. For the filling you have to make sure you bring the flour and milk mixture to a boil in order to remove the raw flour taste. You also have to beat the filling a good long time when you add in the cooled milk and flour mixture. These actually taste better the next day. At first the filling does simply taste like sugar and shortening but after a day the ingredients meld together and the filling becomes more creamy. If you think the filling tastes too much like bakery icing at first give it a day and you'll see a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I did not make the cookie. I wanted a recipe for a cooked filling. I read quite a few of the ratings, some positive some negative. I took everything into consideration and decided to try it. I followed the directions very closely and beat the mixture for 20 minutes. First, I really didn't care for the flavor. Second, it was on the loose side. NOt a good consistancy for a filling. The recipe directions remind me of a homemade pudding. So if anyone was to try this recipe, you might consider using corn starch instead of the flour and maybe add a few beaten egg yolks to the mixture after it boils for a minute. Temper the yolks and then add to mixture and boil one more minute. That might work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The consistancy of the filling was nice, but it tasted bland & the shortning gave it an offputtingly greasy mouth feel. I might try again subbing half butter, adding a bit more sugar, & maybe a little liquor or something to amp up the flavor. I also wish the cookie tasted more intensely chocolatey--it tasted a little flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I think these are really good. For anyone who had a problem with the filling, I think you did it wrong. I have used both flour and corn starch and they turn out great. You have to let the flour mixture cool totally and then beat it for a long time. I use my stand mixer and at first it looks strange and like not enough but you have to keep beating it. The filling should not be greasy either and I have used both butter and shortening. In fact the filling is my favorite part, it's like Waldorf frosting so good, but for sure a different texture then regular frosting, and that what is so great. I am making these again for my son'e Pi party on Pi day (3.14), and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
The rest of the people I served these too were okay with these. I did not like these at all. For one thing, the frosting was way way too salty. Plus it never thickened up, it was very goopy and thin-like a glaze instead of a frosting. The frosting should have had a higher fat to sugar ratio. As for the whoopie sides themselves, they were only okay. Sorry, I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettoothgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and was not impressed. The cookies came out too flat and not cakey enough and the filling flavor was good but texture was too greasy and smooth. Still on my quest for a good whoopie pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimbone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were good but not great. They were really runny for me and so i added the extra cocoa like another review said, but then the cakes were too bitter chocolately. The filling was WONDERFUL. and i did end up doing two batches of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought these were good, but I added about a quarter cup of margarine and about half a cup of confectioners sugar to the filling. I did it both for flavor and to thicken it a bit. When I just followed the recipe my filling was no where near as thick as the picture. I also thought I could taste the flour a little bit and it wasn't sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States