Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made the entire recipe as indicated. After making it, I believe that the sugar should be specified as confectioners or granulated. I used granulated sugar and as a result, the frosting had the texture of creamy granulated sugar, which was bad. I think it's important to know this before you select this recipe. Also, one tablespoon of vanilla extract was WAY too much. It was overwhelmingly sweet. I would decrease it to half a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Also, the cake was very dry and lacking fluff like you'd expect from a whoopie pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
this recipe is LUCKY it got two starts from me! I am sooooo mad right now! The frosting taste great but i stood there with my mixer for 45 minutes and it still did not fluff up. runny and thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I first tried these cute little pies when I visited a friend in Maine. Ever since I came back home I've been craving them so I set out to find a recipe. The first recipe I tried was awful. The second recipe was this recipe... AWESOME! The only thing I changed was I used butter flavored shortening. :) Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I baked these cookies at 340 degrees for 8 minutes, in convection oven. I also substituted the shortening and used butter. These cookies were to die for!!! I doubled the recipe and had enough filling for all cookies. PERFECT RECIPE!! SOOO GOOOOOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe turned out perfect for me! I made the recipe as written and I got 24 large super soft and puffy whoopie pie cookies. I found they taste the best within the first 24 hours of making them. They expand in the oven while baking, so keep that in mind. Looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These came out really well on my first try. One thing I would say is that I found the cakes come out thicker and hold their shape better when they're baked on parchment paper instead of a greased pan. It takes a little practice to get them to come out the same size and shape, but once I got that down I had no other problems. When the milk & flour are on the stove, I'd suggest stirring constantly rather than frequently. The filling is so good I'm going to find other places to use it. Smooth & creamy, and just sweet enough. Thanks BZYMOM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was my first experience with whoopie pies of any kind. I thought they were supposed to be a soft cake like cookie sandwich, but these cookies came out more like a typical crisp chocolate cookie. I cooled them and then covered them well and they did soften up a bit after that. They tasted great though. I won't rate the filling as I made these to use up some excess cream filling from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My son was looking for a dessert similar to the ones we buy to pack in his lunch. These turned out really well--with a couple of changes. I substituted buttermilk for the milk. The batter was really thick so I mixed in 1/2 cup boiling water to get it to the perfect consistency. I baked these on a well greased cookie sheet for about 7 minutes and they turned out perfect--nice and puffy and came off the sheet very easily. I also doubled the amount of filling called for, substituting a stick of butter for 1/2 a cup of the shortening. I only used a teaspoon of vanilla. I've made this type of filling before. It's not like frosting but more like the filling inside a Twinkie (the flavor and texture my son was craving). I am sure we will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These taste just like the ones I would buy from the Menonites that live in my area. Not too sweet but just perfect. I only made a half batch of the cookie part but I used the full batch of the filling. I will absolutely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishcheeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The cake-like part is good, though it flattened for me instead of going all puffy like it's supposed to. The filling is awful though, I had to throw the batch away because my mom was worried everyone would get sick from them. It had a greasy consistency and a terrible aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States