Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
it was a little bit messy but very tasty the only bad thing was that we didn't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
easy to make and quite delicious!! i would double the icing part to be able to put lots of it!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Based on the number of stars (and without reading too many of the reviews), we chose this recipe for my daughter's final for Foods class as a freshman in high school. As others have noted, the cake part is excellent! No changes. I am a pretty experienced baker, but failed to notice the TWENTY minutes of mixing for the filling. should have been a red flag.... The filling as directed was just awful. I added: cornstarch mixed with water, a lot of powdered sugar, and roux (butter and flour), until after about an hour we got to an actual acceptable creamy middle. If you are not an experienced baker, find another filling recipe! Ours turned out great, but it was really trial and error until we "got it." Find your "own" or another recipe for the filling PLEASE and spare yourself our problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made the cookies only, as I was decorating the top with buttercream and decided to fill them with that. The cookies came out perfectly. For each one I used a tablespoon of dough. That made a total of 44 cookies for 22 small whoopie pies. I used cream instead of milk. They were quite rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made these pies for the first time today. I read all of the reviews before so I was a little concerned about the filling. I followed the recipe to a "T" and my pies were excellent! The filling was so light and fluffy and not the least bit greasy. I was thrilled and my family loved them. I mixed the filling for the whole 20 mins (with a hand mixer) and it was perfection. Thank you for this recipe....I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I am fifteen and I made this for my mom and my sister and I and we all loved them! If you follow the directions exactly and don't try to cut corners, they will come out amazing! A tip though, when making the filling, try sifting the flour before putting it into the pot or make sure that the flour is clumpless because when the mixture thickens, if there are clumps in it, you will definitely taste it in the filling. Also, take the time to beat it for the full 20 minutes. It really pays off. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I just made these today very good. At first I wasn't sure about the filling but when placed between the two cookies it came together for me. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not bad, but not great either. The chocolate flavor could have been richer and the cream filling was not sweet enought and a bit greasy. I added some powdered sugar and that helped. They were enjoyed, but not the best by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Loved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
The cake part is very tasty, although it could be baked for only 8-10 minutes, ours were a little hard, though not too much. The filling is atrocious! Do not waste time on it. It is very greasy, and never whipped up. We used our own recipe, modified by checking other whoopie pie recipes here. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States