Whoopie Pies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Always a classic in my house. Recipe is super easy and they are the best whoppie pies I've ever tasted (and everyone who has tried them agrees!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Handy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
The cake batter was sticky and spread out, making flat chocolate cookies, which tasted good, but weren't whoopie pies. The frosting was very sweet, and didn't make enough for the amount of batter I had. Good, but not whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Cooking the cake part now..extremely runny and they are huge and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
They looked nice, but the chocolate part was icky and the edges were hard, and the "marshmallow" stuff was too runny. Probably would have tasted better if I used mud in the cookie dough and Elmers glue for the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very good recipe. We liked the cake part, it was chocolatey enough for us. We had to double the filling part of the recipe to fill all the pies. We did cut back the butter, using only 3/4 the amount. It was thick enough, and did not leak out like some people put in their review. Will make again, these were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
They taste great but the filling is to runny. I think cutting back on the butter might help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe is the exact one my mom received from a neighbor back in 1963. I've handed this recipe down to my daughter and shared it with so many family member and friends. It is the very best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Sorry, this recipe just did NOT do it for me. I come from PA Dutch country....I KNOW what a whoopie pie should taste like and this wasn't it. Don't get me wrong, the cookies were ok, but definitely not chocolatey enough. Also, as everyone else said, 10-12 minutes was too long and the edges got hard. The filling was the bad part though. Due to all the butter that is into it, that's all I taste when I ate one - butter. Also because of the butter I had to refrigerate them to keep the filling from separating. And I also had to almost double the filling recipe so I'd have enough to go into each "pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe was ok. The cookie part didnt have a lot of flavor and only stay moist for a little while after they are out of the oven. Also they only take 7-8 minutes to bake completely, even that gives them a little crunch to the bottom. The filling had really good flavor but was a little runny, my tops kept sliding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaColada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I guess I am the exception to the reviews. I have had really good whoopie pies before and these just didnt do it for me. You definately need to bake the cookies less than ten minutes 8 tops to keep them moist, I also thought the filling was more like frosting.. a bit overly sweet and rich, I also ran out of frosting before I used all my cookies but the kids seem to enjoy them without the filling anyway.. I might use the cookie part of the recipe but will keep searching for that perfect not-too-sweet , fluffy filling I remember as a kid was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States