Whoopie Pies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
The filling on these whoopie pies is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
These cookies are moist and the filling quite rich. I made a double-batch to sell at my son's wrestling tournament and they went quickly! Kids really like them. It's important to wrap the pies in plastic wrap immediately upon filling them so they stay moist and allow the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I am the baker in our local school and I tried this recipe on the students. I am now making batches of 200 Whoopie Pies a couple times a week! The kids give this recipe 5 big stars and an A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Very yummy! My kids loved them. Next time I think I may double the filling, that is what makes these so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
AWESOME!!!! The whole family loved them! And my husband doesn't even care much for chocolate, but he's been bugging me to make these again! Definitely double the filling though.....only other problem I could find was that they didn't last long enough:) Thanks Diana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I guess I am the exception to the reviews. I have had really good whoopie pies before and these just didnt do it for me. You definately need to bake the cookies less than ten minutes 8 tops to keep them moist, I also thought the filling was more like frosting.. a bit overly sweet and rich, I also ran out of frosting before I used all my cookies but the kids seem to enjoy them without the filling anyway.. I might use the cookie part of the recipe but will keep searching for that perfect not-too-sweet , fluffy filling I remember as a kid was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe was ok. The cookie part didnt have a lot of flavor and only stay moist for a little while after they are out of the oven. Also they only take 7-8 minutes to bake completely, even that gives them a little crunch to the bottom. The filling had really good flavor but was a little runny, my tops kept sliding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaColada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Sorry, this recipe just did NOT do it for me. I come from PA Dutch country....I KNOW what a whoopie pie should taste like and this wasn't it. Don't get me wrong, the cookies were ok, but definitely not chocolatey enough. Also, as everyone else said, 10-12 minutes was too long and the edges got hard. The filling was the bad part though. Due to all the butter that is into it, that's all I taste when I ate one - butter. Also because of the butter I had to refrigerate them to keep the filling from separating. And I also had to almost double the filling recipe so I'd have enough to go into each "pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe is the exact one my mom received from a neighbor back in 1963. I've handed this recipe down to my daughter and shared it with so many family member and friends. It is the very best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
They taste great but the filling is to runny. I think cutting back on the butter might help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States