Whoopie Pies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
The kids each gave me a strange look after they took a bite. They weren't horrible, but I probably ever make them again. Thanks anyway Kay ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Because of the negative reviews, I didn't use the recipe for the cookie, I just bought a choc cake mix, and added 1/3C oil, 2 eggs, and 3/4C Water at 375 for 10 min and they were perfect, I did however use the filling, because I don't like eating (or have my kids eating) shortening that's found in most whoopie pie recipes, despite reviews to the contrary, the filling is rich and delicious, and needs no liquid at all as long as you are using room temp butter. I am giving it four stars for the filling alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Cookie needs baking soda/powder. Appropriate for hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
SOMETHING WAS DEFINATELY MISSING FROM THIS RECIPE.THEY CAME OUT FLAT AS A PANCAKE AND THE FLAVOR WAS NOT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I am sorry to say it, but this recipe had some downs. The whoopie pies came out flatter than a pancake- they really needed baking powder. Also, the icing was delicious, but because it was so thick it didn't stick properly to the cookie part. I had to end up throwing it all out. I am really sorry though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My family nearly died laughing when I showed them these cookies! Flat as paper and the filling was in need of moisture of some type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
If a something can be too sweet, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
Kay is right...no one could resist these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Maybe adding some baking powder to the cookie mixture would help them be more cookie-ish and not so pancakey. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I should have read the reviews before I made this one...they were FLAT!..and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States