Whoopie Pies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
We made this yesterday and followed the recipe to the "T". It was really bad, the cream was not tasty. The cookies were so heavy and hard. I bake and cook all the time and this was not a recipe I would want to do again. My husband who eats everything didn't like them and that is a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These are amazing! I only used the cake part of the recipe, but I am sure it was as good. I made a half recipe, but I am finding out that I will need to make more soon! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Do you know that 1 cup of milk is listed twice as an ingredient, but only mentioned once in the directions? I didn't know whether or not to put the cup of milk in both the cookies and the filling. Finally, I did add it to the cookie batter, which was way too thick. But then it was thin adn runny, like cake batter. So, after adding 1 more cup of flour, it was perfect. Made wonderfull whoopie pies,(gobs, I've always called them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
num num num
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These tasted very good but like another reviewer, the cookies turned out lumpy. The batter was nice and smooth and mixed properly when it went on the sheet, they just didn't smooth out well. Good taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Taste was great. They did not turn out well otherwise. They were nothing like the ones I used to eat at family picnics in PA. They were not smooth after they were baked and did not spread out. I followed the directions closely and double checked myself. The cookie I wanted was the one in the picture. Dissapointed it wasn't what I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
More work than a brownie but tastes pretty close to one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good recipe - especially since we have a raw egg allergy and many of the other recipes call for egg whites in the filling. I've made the recipe twice now and I've used unsalted butter in place of shortening and have not had any issues with the frosting or cake. Also, the cake part rises much more if you let the batter sit a few minutes on the baking sheet before setting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!! Reminds me of home in PA... The people of Virginia have never heard of such a thing, but they will now! I just sent an entire tray to my son's classroom. It's sure to become a trend. :) YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupshur
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one handed down from my mother in law, who has now deceased. The only change is instead of granulated sugar in the icing, you should use powdered sugar so it doesn't come out grainy. This recipe has to be followed to the letter. Other reviewers that had lumps or problems probably didn't follow the amounts correctly. It is hard to add that much shortening to it... but you have to in order to make GOBS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States