Whoopie Pies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The cookie had an excellent moist texture but the flavor was lacking. It just doesn't have that rich chocolatey flavor of traditional whoopie pies. I didn't care much for the frosting but that may just be me. I am not a fan of so much shortening in my frostings. I will probably alter the cookie part of the recipe to add more flavor but I am still on the hunt for the perfect filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This seems to be a fool proof recipe. Loved it. For me, the convection oven worked better than traditional. And, using parchment paper worked MUCH better than directly on the pan which is stone. Even the first cookies that didn't come out looking all that good still tasted fabulous. Hard to screw this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic cookie. Still looking for the perfect filling.Even though I used butter and extra sugar and vanilla it's still missing that PA magic. The very best Whoopie pie I ever had was from Ashcomb's in Mechanicsberg,PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These were really good! The cake part is great. The filling I ended up adding the whole 7 oz of marshmallow creme and probably and extra 3/4 cup (or so) of powdered sugar. This helped bulk it up so I had just enough to fill all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I loved the slight crispness of the chocolate cookies, but the flavor was somehow lacking. Not sure why. The filling was pretty good, but again, not terribly flavorful and not that light, creamy filling I was hoping for. Regardless, they were easy to make and had great presentation. I put each one in a baggie and brought to a potluck and all the kids snatched them up immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I only made the cookie portion of this recipe. They were pretty good, although they didn't puff up very much and were a little crumbly (not dry, just fell apart easily). I discovered that they need to be baked on a greased cookie sheet too. All that considered, I thought they were good and would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Like others I added a TB of vanilla to the filling. I also used a full cup of sugar. My husband likes peanut butter, so I added a 1/2 cup of PB to half the frosting, and it came out delicious. To add more of a chocolate taste to the cakes I added an extra 2 TB of cocoa. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
MY HUSBAND COULDN'T STOP EATING THESE! HE TOLD ME TO ADD THESE TO MY "FAVORITE RECIPE BOOK" WHICH I ONLY PUT THE 5 STAR RECIPES IN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out great! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States