Whoopie Pies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic cookie. Still looking for the perfect filling.Even though I used butter and extra sugar and vanilla it's still missing that PA magic. The very best Whoopie pie I ever had was from Ashcomb's in Mechanicsberg,PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These were really good! The cake part is great. The filling I ended up adding the whole 7 oz of marshmallow creme and probably and extra 3/4 cup (or so) of powdered sugar. This helped bulk it up so I had just enough to fill all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I loved the slight crispness of the chocolate cookies, but the flavor was somehow lacking. Not sure why. The filling was pretty good, but again, not terribly flavorful and not that light, creamy filling I was hoping for. Regardless, they were easy to make and had great presentation. I put each one in a baggie and brought to a potluck and all the kids snatched them up immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I only made the cookie portion of this recipe. They were pretty good, although they didn't puff up very much and were a little crumbly (not dry, just fell apart easily). I discovered that they need to be baked on a greased cookie sheet too. All that considered, I thought they were good and would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Like others I added a TB of vanilla to the filling. I also used a full cup of sugar. My husband likes peanut butter, so I added a 1/2 cup of PB to half the frosting, and it came out delicious. To add more of a chocolate taste to the cakes I added an extra 2 TB of cocoa. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
MY HUSBAND COULDN'T STOP EATING THESE! HE TOLD ME TO ADD THESE TO MY "FAVORITE RECIPE BOOK" WHICH I ONLY PUT THE 5 STAR RECIPES IN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out great! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I've been searching for a good Whoopie Pie recipe that had marshmallow in the filling so I tried this one. The cookies came out great after baking them for 8 minutes. The filling was okay...it isn't that typical sugary sweet filling that I am used to but nonetheless, very good. I will continue to search for the perfect filling but in the meantime will continue to use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Schriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jade
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
the cookie part of these were ok. i used a peanut butter frosing for the middle and together it was very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States