Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Original recipe is really good. I had to end up adding a spoonful more shortening in the end, but perfect consistency frosting. Did have some stiffness to it so there wasn't too much mush with biting. My daughter loved the "cookies", even without the frosting. One cookie definitely satisfies! So much for that trip to the gym this morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Just made these little dream cakes and the kiddos have huge grins on their faces. They loved them! Followed the recipe exactly and it worked out perfectly. For the cookie, I found that 2 (measuring spoon) Tablespoons of batter makes the perfect sized whoopie for us. The batter does spread and puff up. Definitely making these again, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
SUPER YUMMY! Would suggest to anyone. I didnt change anything. But very hard to resist to eat. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Perfect balance of flavor.THEY TASTED GREAT!!!!Cooked perfectly at 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam labreck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie C
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
The cake/cookie part of this recipe is awesome and I will certainly use that again. I wasn't crazy about the frosting...I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and I think it was a bit too sweet and was hoping for something a bit more fluffy. I used my Pampered Chef medium scooper and got exactly 40 cookie-cakes which made 20 cookies and they were probably 3" in diameter and very light and fluffy, not sure where they got the 12 cookies for the recipe yield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! My neighbor grew up on whoopie pies in New England and he pronounced these very authentic and delicious, as well. The cake is a tender, soft mild cocoa-flavored butter cake and the filling is a rich buttercream. Not overly sweet, but just perfect to me. The frosting yield isn't enough to fill the 6 large sandwich cookies with the classic thick layer, though -- think it needs to be doubled next time. I think whoopie pies might become the new cupcakes, as they're so tasty and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Chocolate cookie was a nice light flavor. Filling was way too greasy from shortening. I tried rolling edges in Andes mint bits to mask the flavor of shortening, which it did, but i still looked up some others that used butter and marshmellow rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've been looking for a whoopie pie recipe that doesn't use a box cake mix as a base for a while now and thought that maybe this would be the one. I followed the cake recipe as written, but it's quite possible that there's a user error somewhere in how I made these, they were thin as a pancake, light brown, and tasted nothing like a whoopie pie should. I will keep searching. On the other hand...they made pretty good peanut-butter frosted chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm only rating the filling, since that's all I used. I followed the directions exactly. I let it all whip together for about five minutes - runny. I turned up the speed on my Kitchenaid for another five minutes - runny. I ended up adding 4 ounces of cream cheese and beating further - STILL runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States