Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This mildly sweet rich fluffy cake is absolutely delicious, and a perfect foil for the rich sweet frosting. I really liked these but they are a fair bit of work; if you used a teaspoon measure you'd be at it all day! I experimented and found the best size was between a tablespoon and 1/8 c. measure but they would look best in a consistent size like a small ice cream scoop. (They don't spread much at that smaller size; I tried Hostess Suzie Q size, too, and they do spread a lot). I think they need the frosting spread thick enough to sweeten the thick cookies -- but the tops slide! I chilled them, but they got a bit stale. All in all, really delicious but best eaten on day they're made (and allow enough time to create them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Modify the filling for sure. We just finished baking and these are delicious. I made the filling as stated in the recipe and it was a soupy disaster. I looked up another recipe for filling and was able to add 1/2 C of shortening to the soupy mess and redeem the filling. I used the new filling on the remaining Pies and they look and taste awesome. If you want a thicker, more stable filling do not use butter, use shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
While the taste of these cakes was great, I definitely had the problem listed by others that the cakes were too flat and fell apart. I did add extra flour half way through which seemed to help a bit, but overall I was disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe! I didn't find the filling difficult to work with at all- I spread it on the pieces just like one would frosting. Tastes great! The recipe makes far more than 15 whoopie pies though, I got 51 assembled pies from the dough, using a 1 teaspoon cookie scoop to scoop the dough. Delicious- my son's new favorite cookie, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
great cookies! I skipped the filling based on reviews and used Cream Cheese frosting II from this site instead. I doubled the amt of confectioners sugar in the cream cheese frosting and it transformed into a delicious marshmellowy light, fluffy creme. Perfect whoopie pie filling. Not cream cheese tangy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Though I followed recipe, maybe it was me. This isnt the authentic whoppie I grew up with. Filling is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I put 4 stars instead of 5 only because I used different filling; but this recipe is a 5 stars! so easy, so yummy, soft and tall, I will definitely do it again and again! I use half yogurt and half milk because I run out of buttermilk, and a swiss meringue buttercream (a leftover of a birthday cake) for filling (recipe of Martha Stewart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found this recipe to be extremely messy and difficult to work with. Other than that, they didn't taste that bad. The chocolate cookie part alone is quite bland, but with the cream it tastes better. After I made them I put them in the refrigerator, which seemed to make them less sticky. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
The cookie part of these pies are great. Much more flavorful than others I tried and they are cakey yet delicately proportioned. The filling was also much better tasting than others I've tried but... basically a nightmare to work with. Goopy, sticky and oozy, both to mix and portion into the pies. I'm looking for a filling that is thick and fluffy enough to not ooze out the sides like this one did, yet fluffier and less sugary and stiff than a standard frosting. I have yet to find that in a recipe that doesn't use shortening. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I was hoping for fat, round, cakey cookies, but the first batch was flat and not terribly flavorful. I refrigerated the batter, used parchment paper for baking, and added more salt, cocoa powder and flour and they fluffed up much better. If I do them again I will start by using half the amount of water, and then add more if needed. The texture is good and the cookie neutral enough for the sweet filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States