Wholesome Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Absolutely Awesome! Made this late on a Sunday night and after letting the loaves cool for 10 min, tried a slice. So good I immediately chased it with a second! Tips: 1. Only cook for about 20 min to avoid burning. 2. This recipe will make 2 5x9 loaves or 3 4x8 loaves. (I only have one 5x9 pan, so I used it and a 4x8 and both were overflowing a bit.) 3. I had to ask my mom what "soft dough" meant, she said it means "slightly sticky". If you are using a mixer like I did (Bosch), start with the wire whisks, get everything (including wheat flour) in except the AP flour, then switch to the dough hook and add AP flour until the dough starts to clean the sides of the bowl, then leave it to knead on 1 or 2 for 10 minutes (I left it on level 1). Thanks, Karen, for the recipe! Definitely going in my 'keepers' book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bateperson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great wheat bread recipe. I added sunflower seeds and flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious, thank you! I've been making one loaf after another since I tried this recipe. I won't have any other sandwich bread anymore. I cut the salt back to about a tsp per loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Just made this bread and wow...did it turn out great! I used the bread machine on a dough setting to do all the work and did the final rise in a greased bread pan. Will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good! I also added 1/4 cup wheat germ, and loved the result. I can't wait to try it as dinner rolls. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe - especially for dinner rolls! Frankly, I prefer this recipe as a roll than bread, it adds the perfect sweetness slathered with butter to go with a big bowl of soup. I've made this as written, and also substituted maple syrup for honey (when honey was low) as well as just used all milk rather than water plus milk powder (as I rarely have milk powder). Every time with each substitution it has come out great! This makes about 30-40+ dinner rolls (I normally bake about 1/3 of them and freeze the remaining, pre-baked rolls for convenience next time!) and I bake them at 375 for about 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This turned out awful. I'm not sure what I did or didn't do, but it was bad. The one loaf burnt in under 15 minutes, and the other wouldn't get done. The loaves were the same size and my oven has never cooked anything like that before. I will be finding a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The best ever. I love it and can't get enough! I bake bread every 2-3 days and this is the one that gets eaten first by my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent flavor and a texture I really love. Can't wait to see how it toasts up tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States