Whole White Wheat and Honey Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very soft cakish sort of cookie! However, to me it is a bit on the sweet side. I think the next time I make them I will cut down on the amount of honey. I think my Sunday School class is gona' love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Thank you!! I was looking for a healthier alternative to the regular desserts filled with sugar, butter, and white flour. I have found it. I substituted the butter with Sunsweet Lighter Bake and used whole wheat flour as that was what I had. Yummy. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My two year old loves them, as do I. I can't resist adding a little oatmeal to chocolate chip cookies, but otherwise I followed the recipe. Like other reviewers said, the first sheet turned out a bit more like muffins than cookies. For the second sheet I added some liquid milk to the recipe and then really tried not to over-bake them (I tried to err on the side of under-baking since they bake a little bit even after they're out of the oven) and then they turned out more like cookies. I am staying away from refined sugar so I will make these again when I'm craving a good, substantial cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Ok my kids and myself all say these are the best cookies we've ever had! I combined whole wheat flour and organic white flour to make my own whole white wheat. I used some walnuts since I was out of pecans. I used regular skim milk, not powdered. I don't keep powdered milk here. I also added some wheat germ, and some flax seed. Truly they were chewy, sweet, but not too sweet, and really hit the spot. I woke up excited each day to eat some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Thank you thank you thank you! These cookies are beyond belief they are so good! Because of dietary restrictions related to my son's asthma we do not use dairy or sugar in our house and these cookies were an amazing start towards a dessert we can all enjoy. To make them work for us I omitted the butter and dry milk, replacing them with a combination of 2 cups of milled flax seed and a half a cup of soy milk. I also replaced the chocolate chips with unsweetened carob chips. Obviously that is A LOT of changes from a traditional cookie recipe so I was shocked when I was able to bring them to a lunch play-date and the other kids actually ate them! Thank-you, it means so much to my son to be able to share with other kids. They are already on high request at our house and I think that we will be making them to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monkton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Taste was good, texture a little grainy...the other girls in my small group liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Fabulous! Loved them. They were gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I like the whole wheat option. Very soft texture. Very salty. Seems to have twice as much salt than standard cookie recipe.The flavor and texture improved when eaten cold so I kept them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Let me preface this review by saying that my family is switching over to an all whole foods diet - no white flour, sugar, rice, potatoes, high fructose corn syrup or hydrogenated fats. By and large, it's a fairly easy transition, but a good cookie -- that's hard to find! These have excellent flavor, and are as easy to make as regular chocolate chip cookies. The batter consistency is considerably softer than traditional choc chip batter, and has a wicked aftertaste - don't worry, it doesn't come through in the cookie! They have a different but not bad texture that is halfway between a cookie and a muffin top. We've taken to calling them muffkies. These are not going to satisfy any cravings for chewy, dense, Mrs. Fields style cookies; but they are a nice sweet treat for kiddos if you're trying to amp up the nutrition. I probably won't make these again for a while -- I'm going to try experiments with raw sugars and crystalline fructose to get a "cookier" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
it was delicious. i did not add the powdered milk. and used half a cup of butter instead of one cup. fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States