Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This bread has a wonderful texture. It is really quite special. Thanks, Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Made exactly as recipe called for except I used Golden Flax Seed instead of Sesame Seed. I made this on Dough setting, although I thought it would rise a little more, I made into 12 dinner rolls, using a lightly greased glass 9x13 pan, second rise, 45 minutes with warm moist towel over top of pan. Brushed with egg lightly sprinkled with a little course ground sea salt and flax seed. Baked 20 minutes in 350 degree oven, turned out a little denser than I expected from reviews but they were very good, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Completely enjoyable. Light and tasty. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This bread is lovely! I don't have a bread maker so I doubled the recipe and did it this way: Add the honey to warm water and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let proof for 10 minutes then add the salt, oil, zucchini, seeds and seasoning. I added 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil and a tsp of rosemary like someone else suggested, then your flour. Let rise for 1 hour, punch down and divide into 2 loaves and let rise again in bread pans for 45 minutes. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Brush tops with olive oil after it comes out of the oven and EAT!!! 2nd batch: Doubled it again and used only 1 tsp of salt, 2 tsp of italian seasoning and 2 tbsp of sesame seeds (as well as 2 cups of grated zucchini). It rose much higher this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I really goofed and added 3 Tbsps oil. I thought it would be a disaster but it came out nice and fluffy but still had substance. I didn't taste the zucchini at all , nor the fresh basil very much so will add more next time. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Unbelievable!!! I used unsweetened organic coconut oil in place of regular oil and it was sooo aromatic and gave a wonderful flavor to the muffins. I am going to try sweet apple cinamon oil next time and see what that does for the recipe. These muffins (a double batch) was gone in 3 days. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Awesome! I added 1/2 tbsp rosemary and 1/2 tbsp basil. Everyone at home and work loved it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I have made this bread several times with slght variations and I love it. My family love it as well and we make a loaf a week. I have tried it with pine nuts both times. Expensive but worth the treat once in a while. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My husband likes this bread to take in his lunch box. He adds a few slices of turkey, cheese and Frank's red hot sauce. A loaf only lasts a few days in my house. Good thing the kids still like pbj for lunch i might have to get a second machine when they get older. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Withrich
Home Town: Dalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I love this bread! Its great for sandwiches and as a dinner bread. It also makes a great egg sandwich for breakfast! I bake it the old fashion way following one of the reviewers tips - thanks! I usually double the batch because we go through it so fast! I use fresh basil, rosemary and thyme - usually a medium handfull of each finely chopped. Sometimes I even throw in dry herbs for more flavor. The more herb flavor the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States