Whole Wheat Zucchini Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I loved this bread. So flavorful and just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is SO SO GOOD! I've made it a few times, and substitute the basil with a tsp of dried thyme (or savory) and it is amazing! Great for grilled sandwiches or with dinner... will make over and over for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This bread did not rise well for me, even with the addition of citric acid which usually makes the difference for wholewheat loaves. I felt it could do with much more fresh basil for flavour. Otherwise a reasonable bread, crumbly but thick. Best for toasting. I made another loaf just with basic white bread recipe, but replaced just over 1/2cup water with a medium zucchini grated. It was delicious, and rose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Taste was pretty good but my bread didn't turn out the best. It was crumbly and not fluffy at all. Probably due to something I did, would recommend to someone who has baked bread before. I'll keep trying until the zucchini's gone! Thanks for the recipe, I'm excited to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Best bread ever! I just add the zucchini without measuring but follow the recipe otherwise. I've made 2 loaves today and will make more to give to all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A pretty bread with flecks of green from the zucchini and basil. I checked this 15 minutes into the mixing stage and there were large, dry clumps of dough. It needed another 1/4 cup water. I also added more yeast to be more in line with what I typically use for this amount of flour and ingredients. I thought that the sesame seeds might be lost in there, but you definitely taste them when you bite into one. This bread has very subtle flavor. I used fresh lemon basil and it was hard to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Made this with one whole large zucchini, and fresh thyme and rosemary instead of fresh basil. Also used 1 3/4 whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. It was EXCELLENT! Kids devoured it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
OK, I made just plain whole wheat zucchini bread, and it was really good! I peeled the zucchini, left out the basil and sesame seeds and doubled the honey. It was light and moist--the best whole wheat bread I've made in my bread machine (and I've been making bread for years). You don't taste the zucchini at all. I will definitely make this again! Great recipe for those big zucchini from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I enjoyed this bread. I think it might be a bit bland, though. I will add more spices or something next time.. But in any case, it seems like a simple, solid base for whole wheat bread with any kind of flavors or additions you'd like to attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States