Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. My breads usually sink down, but this kept its shape nicely. I just gave my copy to my mother-in-law to try, so I'll need to print out a new one. I made half the recipe, in my Pampered chef stone bread pan. It took a little over an hour. Delicious and even pretty healthy! Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I was looking for something a little more healthy for breakfast. These definitely hit the spot. Very tasty, I halfed the recipe and made muffins instead of bread and they came out great! You could also add a tablespoon of orange zest if you wanted a little zip to them. Don't leave out the walnuts though, I think they are an important component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made this recipe along with a 'regular' zucchini bread, because I was worried that my kids wouldn't like the 'healthier' version. But this whole wheat bread won hands down! Everyone loved it! It was much sweeter than what I was expecting, which was good for us, but might not be for some. But I usually add raisins to my zucchini breads instead of nuts, which could've added to the sweetness. So, if you want something tasty and healthy, this is the recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by k00kykelly
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this recipie in 3/4 proportion. I used all whole wheat flour (instead of some white, some wheat) and 2 tsp baking powder and 2 tsp baking soda (a little extra to compensate for the whole wheat flour). It turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I would say that with just a few tweaks, this bread is AWESOME! I did find that the bread was too dense so I cut the all-purpose flour down to three cups instead of 4. I thought the sweetness of the bread was right on and in fact, cut the brown sugar down to only 1/2 cup. To save on calories, I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil and then just added 2 tablespoons of oil. I love spice so I also snuck in some nutmeg. Since it makes three loaves, it's been fun giving it away to friends and family and so far, people have loved it and have been asking me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I'm hooked on this Zucchini bread! My family requested that I make some, and after trying a grossly sweet recipe with poor flavor, I was determined to find something that would yield what everybody was craving. We stumbled upon this, and it sounded delicious. It tastes as delicious as it sounds. I followed the recipe to a tee. The batter looked very thick and like it would end up being a dry bread, but the end result was surprisingly moist, perfectly sweet, and 100% eatable. My new staple zucchini bread recipe for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Hands down, this is one of my favorite zucchini bread recipes that I have come across. I made a few slight changes to suit my taste: 2 cups ww flour and 1 cup ap flour, 1.5 tsp baking soda and powder to make up for the additional ww flour and .5 cup chocolate chips. It turned out moist and just sweet enough. This has become a family favorite of ours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I had very good luck with this bread, although I did modify the recipe a bit. I used all whole wheat flour (no white flour). Based on the recommendation of another reviewer, since I was using whole wheat flour, I added 1-cup of skim milk (otherwise the recipe was so dry-I couldn't even mix the ingredients). I also doubled the honey instead of using brown sugar and added more zucchini than asked for. Based on another reviewer, I added slightly more baking powder and baking soda (1/2 tsp more each) since I was using all whole wheat flour. It baked in 55 minutes and came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States