Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was just what I wanted to show Irish friends the great American tradition of zucchini bread (AKA courgette bread). I also made a few minor alterations: I used all 6 cups "strong" whole wheat bread flour; I used 1 cup of Splenda instead of honey; 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce (made with tart Bramley apples) - instead of most of the oil (Splenda can make things drier); 3 Tbsp. of oil; 1/2 cup of milk; 1 to 1.5 tsps. of nutmeg; 2.5 to 3 tsps. baking powder; 2.5 tsps. baking soda; 1/2 cup flaxseeds; 1.5 tsps. vanilla. Everything else was as in the recipe. Made two loaves and 11 muffins. Moist & sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe would be wonderful with Kamut wheat being it is a sweeter and a milder wheat that's usually what I use when I am making a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used half whole wheat instead of a third and it turned out really well! Might had coconut or pineapple next time too. The honey and brown sugar combo was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
this recipe is so delish! even my picky eater husband likes this! thanks! will def make it again. perfect pair for a cup of coffee during fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Just hot out of the oven! Used all Whole Wheat (Common Spring) flour. Substituted as suggested the applesauce for oil. I packed the zucchini into the measuring cup like brown sugar would be packed.Zucchini is moist so I wanted to see if it would help. I use frozen grated zucchini in recipes and I don"t drain it. No extra moisture was needed fof this recipe. Tastes great! Baked it in 2 long bread pans 12x7 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My breads turned out moist and flavorful. I liked that there is four cups of zucchini used. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I just made this but halved it and did muffins instead. The only thing I did different was add some chocolate chips so that my kids would eat them, lol. They are DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly, just adding the choc chips. Very very good and one I will use again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Nice recipe! Like other reviewers, I made a few modifications to up the health content even further: 1. used applesauce instead of oil, 2. used white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. Because all of the flour was some form of whole wheat, I added about a teaspoon of vital wheat gluten and everything rose wonderfully. I also found it necessary to add milk because the mixture was too dry otherwise - added about 3/4 cup almond milk. I also added a dash of nutmeg and cloves. YUM! Made it in loaf size, 9" round cake pan, two mini-muffin trays, and one 6-count regular muffin tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yum! Might want to check your loaves sooner so they don't overbake. Even my toddler loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skiva
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was the 1st recipe I saw. Looked so good, so I tried it. Incredible. I live at 5,000' elevation, so no alterations necessary for high elevation. I liked the alternatives to using wheat & honey. I can see adding in grated apples or blueberries to this mix. My husband doesn't care for alternative foods... he's ate half the mini loaf in less than 2 minutes... I'd say this is a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States