Whole Wheat Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These are perfect for sandwich wraps! They are soft, filling and I love that there are so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very easy to make and the end result is perfect- beautiful simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
No bread in the house and a winter storm. No baking soda either. Delicious! I ran warm water slowly into the bowl while kneading dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These are great. Pliable and tasty - perfect for sandwiches. I made half a recipe since there are only two of us at home now and it made nine 10 inch wraps. I used 1 cup bread flour and 1 cup white wheat flour. I used almost the entire cup of warm water though. The bread flour and 1/2 the wheat flour and 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water was kneaded in the stand mixer for about 4 minutes - to really develop good gluten structure. Then added the remaining ingredients and kneaded 1-2 more minutes. Add 1-2 tablespoons bread flour if needed. The dough should leave the sides of the bowl while kneading at medium speed. Rest at least 30 minutes then roll very thinly. Think pasta strips. You will be able to stretch them after rolling if needed to thin in thicker spots. Cook as above and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I just made and tasted the first one - delicious! I only mixed up enough dough to make 4 of them because I didn't want to waste ingredients if I messed them up. I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle and let it rest a few hours. I added 3 TBSP extra water, a tsp of EVOO, and some honey. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Really tasty! I had to get a technique down so I ruined the first two, but they made decent tortilla chips. The ones I made successfully were great! I added a bit of extra water, and kneaded them a good while. I didn't have wax paper, so I just rolled them out on a floured surface. My arms got a good workout from rolling them as thin as possible! But it was well worth the effort. Part of me thought they'd turn out too crumbly to make a wrap without splitting the bread, but they're quite flexible! These made a great turkey wrap, and I'm hoping to have taco night at home soon to try them out for that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Originally I wasn't going to bother commenting because I was so disappointed with the outcome BUT after letting the dough balls sit overnight, I rolled them out and tried once more. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised... They are nice and fluffy and the taste is a combination of your typical wrap and naan. I DID alter the original recipe to 3 cups ww flour and 1 cup all purpose flower... Maybe the key IS to let the dough rest longer... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made these very frequently, but they never turn out right. For a while, I thought it was my fault, which is why I kept trying. But it really is the recipe. I have gotten some good wraps out of it, but it is a major chore. Some problems that I've come across: Too low or high heat produces too hard wraps, and it is hard to find medium ground. The dough is always too sticky, which means that it sticks to itself, wax paper, and me. And I've tried using varying amounts of water to fix it, and I can't. It is impossible to roll them out between wax paper. I use a rolling pin, with much difficulty because of the stickyness. As I said, I have made these several times, and sometimes it works out. But it's too inconsistent for me to ever try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was my first time making unleavened bread, and it was simple and delicious. I'm going to give this 5 stars even though I had to alter my process - as a newbie, I may have measured the flour wrong. I used an additional cup of water and about 1 1/2 cups of white flour for coating the rolling pin, dough, and surface. The waxed paper was a disaster for me. Also, dividing into 16 pieces made the wraps too small, okay, I admit, we're big eaters! Instead, I divided into 8 pieces. Cooking was fast and easy, even in a medium-sized skillet. I had read other recipes before choosing this one, and they mentioned adding seasonings. I added parsley, oregano, basil, and garlic powder to taste. I actually look forward to making these again and trying various herbs. They have become the sandwich staple in my family. Bye bye, yeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe reminded me of the tortillas we ate in a small village in Mexico and was fun to make with the family. I halved the recipe and made eight 6-inch tortillas. I added about 1 tbsp of vegetable oil to the batter which made it easier to roll out. I also lightly sprayed the balls with Pam Olive Oil before I covered them with plastic wrap to rest. The first one was a little tough to roll out so next time I would let them rest for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States