Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Not very flavorful; probably wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My daughter ate three whole muffins as soon as they were cool enough to eat! Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a great base recipe! I would give it 5 stars but I made a few additions that I think make this recipe so good! I used Plain non fat greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of honey, flax meal (I just dumped some in and found it did not effect the end result even with leaving the flour as is), I used whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce instead of oil, pumpkin seeds instead of almonds for the topping because that is what I had on hand. I had to bake these about 21 minutes but they were so yummy! I got 24 mini muffins. The topping is great for 2 batches. One of the better healthy muffins I have made. Great texture. My toddler loves them and so do I. I worked out the calories to be about 103 calories for a mini muffin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yummy! I only rated 4 as written because the honey and topping can be greatly reduced. But with those reductions, an excellent, moist muffin that sneaks in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These are pretty nice muffins. Pretty light even though they are made with whole wheat flour. I upped the spices in the muffins and halved the topping (still too much, but a great compliment to these). I think the yogurt is important in this recipe because the leavener used is baking soda which requires an acid to react to (all baking powder really is is baking soda with an acid added to make up for the absence of one in a recipe. Baking soda is also 4 times as powerful as baking powder, so if switching to a non acid dairy, one needs to also switch to baking powder and quadruple the amount). The size of sweet potatoes vary...mine was a bit small, so I would have prefered a bit more in my muffin (a measurement would have been helpful here instead of just "one sweet potato"). I got 14 nicely sized muffins out of this recipe, which took longer than the 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good healthy muffin. Used white whole wheat flour, subed allspice for the spices, plain greek yogurt, and 1/2ed the honey. Turned out very moist so I kept them in the fridge. Does not taste at all like sweet potatoes for anyone who thinks it sounds like a weird ingriedient for muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
These were so good! Used vanilla greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt, and 3/4 cup of honey instead of 1. Next time will substitute applesauce for oil. All in all a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good! The topping mix made way too much, so I cut the amounts in half the next time around, and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very tasty, moist, and sweet but not overly sweet. I used cooked and mashed squash and shredded raw carrots because I did not have a sweet potato on hand and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Wow, so many glowing reviews. 'Think I'd like it if an amount were there instead of "One sweet potato." Those babies can range. Mine worked out to be a cup & a half. I halved the honey that everyone suggested, which I subbed with brown sugar. (Hey, I didn't have any! :D) I didn't add the cloves because I thought the ginger would provide enough "bite," which it really didn't. This is a very mellow muffin! :) Mine made twelve beautiful - I mean, beautiful - round topped muffins. Gorgeous. With all the complaints too much sugar, I used 2T brown sugar & 1T plain breadcrumbs for the topping. Lemme tell ya, I think with the oat-brownsugar-almond-cinnamon topping, you'd want less sugar in it. Without it, you're probably fine as it's stated. They wanted to stick to the wrappers even after cooling, but not a lot. Moist quickbread texture, but muffin look. Mine were done in 25 minutes. These don't taste as healthy as they are - so the kids might eat them. Ha! ;D Boy child, 16, three down in less than three hours. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States