Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
These are awesome. They stay moist and delicious even when you freeze them! I'm lazy, so I skipped the topping and just sprinkled coarse (turbinado) sugar on top for a sweet crust before baking. The honey is completely unnecessary - save the calories and cut it in half or leave it off completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saraschung
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I've learned that the easiest way to cook a potato/squash is to microwave it before using. I did this for the recipe and saved myself 40 minutes (let's not discuss the possibilities of toxins from microwaving). Also, I took out half of the honey, substituted applesauce for most of the canola oil (left 2 T of oil) and they came out great. Required more than 15 minutes of cooking time for me but once done, tasted just like any old fatty muffin, but better. :) When served with whipped cream cheese, it's' amazing. The only thing I might do next time is leave big chunks of sweet potato instead of mashing it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Not very flavorful; probably wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My daughter ate three whole muffins as soon as they were cool enough to eat! Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a great base recipe! I would give it 5 stars but I made a few additions that I think make this recipe so good! I used Plain non fat greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of honey, flax meal (I just dumped some in and found it did not effect the end result even with leaving the flour as is), I used whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce instead of oil, pumpkin seeds instead of almonds for the topping because that is what I had on hand. I had to bake these about 21 minutes but they were so yummy! I got 24 mini muffins. The topping is great for 2 batches. One of the better healthy muffins I have made. Great texture. My toddler loves them and so do I. I worked out the calories to be about 103 calories for a mini muffin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yummy! I only rated 4 as written because the honey and topping can be greatly reduced. But with those reductions, an excellent, moist muffin that sneaks in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These are pretty nice muffins. Pretty light even though they are made with whole wheat flour. I upped the spices in the muffins and halved the topping (still too much, but a great compliment to these). I think the yogurt is important in this recipe because the leavener used is baking soda which requires an acid to react to (all baking powder really is is baking soda with an acid added to make up for the absence of one in a recipe. Baking soda is also 4 times as powerful as baking powder, so if switching to a non acid dairy, one needs to also switch to baking powder and quadruple the amount). The size of sweet potatoes vary...mine was a bit small, so I would have prefered a bit more in my muffin (a measurement would have been helpful here instead of just "one sweet potato"). I got 14 nicely sized muffins out of this recipe, which took longer than the 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good healthy muffin. Used white whole wheat flour, subed allspice for the spices, plain greek yogurt, and 1/2ed the honey. Turned out very moist so I kept them in the fridge. Does not taste at all like sweet potatoes for anyone who thinks it sounds like a weird ingriedient for muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
These were so good! Used vanilla greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt, and 3/4 cup of honey instead of 1. Next time will substitute applesauce for oil. All in all a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good! The topping mix made way too much, so I cut the amounts in half the next time around, and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States