Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
excellent Recipe!! Used all wheat flour, 2 whole eggs, and extra cinnamon and sugar in the dough (doubled). Family gobbled them down and has no idea they are full of WHEAT flour. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Excellent. We always made snickerdoodles growing up, and these are reminiscent of the ones we made...but healthier. They were gobbled up quickly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These are so good. I used real butter & you can definitely taste it. I used the medium Pampered Chef cookie scoop & baked for about 8.5 minutes on my Pampered Chef stone cookie sheet. I got 34 cookies. They are crisp on the outside and soft & chewy on the inside. I really think the key to these cookies is to not bake them for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
These cookies were delicious! I was very excited to find a recipe using whole wheat flour. As other reviewers suggested, I used 2c. whole wheat flour and only 3/4 c. all-purpose. I also added a dash of vanilla extract and cinnamon in the dough before baking it. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I can't figure out why this recipe got such high ratings. They did not turn out for me. I did make a few changes, but they were very very slight, and shouldn't have effected the turnout much at all. These were crumbly, taste like flour even after adding a full teaspoon of vanilla, and adding cinnamon right to the batter. They never flattened, and you cannot even pick them up. I was going to take these to my grandmother's 90th birthday party, but taking these would be an embarrassment. I'm not even going to bake up the rest of them. I am known in my family as a great cook, and cookies are my specialty. I was interested in these because they don't use cream of tartar, which I'm out of at the moment. I'm going to make my peanut butter oatmeal cookies instead. They are a trademark of mine and foolproof. Don't waste your time or your ingredients on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These cookies were a huge hit at my house. My mom had friends over and EVERYONE was asking for the recipe. I cheated though, i forgot to put the all-purpous flour and just used the same amount of whole wheat flour. I completely reccommend you to try this also but with my little twist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I'm always happy when whole wheat cookies recipes turns out good. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup all purpose flour, two whole eggs (by accident), added a bit of cin to the batter and only used sugar to coat the cookies before baking. I made regular snickerdoodles for the first time last week and the kids loved them. These are just as good and so much better for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
These were amazing. Better than I expected since I was using whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was horrible! They were like hockey pucks going down. I did the recipe to a T but something went wrong. The smell was great -- the cinnamon/sugar combo was delicious but they didn't rise and fall like was described and I had to flatten them myself -- about 12 minutes in I finally took them out and they still weren't done. I don't know what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Mmmmm, these are so good. I love them. I used whole wheat pastry flour and you can hardly tell that whole wheat is in there. I baked at a lower temp- 375- for 8 minutes and they turned out perfectly. Crisp edges, chewy centers. They are buttery, sweet and cinnamony. Per other reviews, I added 1/2 tsp cream of tartar, and some vanilla. I also used my own vanilla bean sugar for part of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States