Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was excellent! I used whole wheat PASTRY flour instead of regular whole wheat which gives these cookies an excellent texture (very similar to regular snickerdoodles). I used 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon, the same sugar/cinnamon ratio I usually use (2T/1t). They seem a bit sticky when you are rolling them into balls, this is OK, they will turn out fine :) I did NOT press them down with a glass and they spread out just right. Like all snickerdoodle cookies you have to take them out before they look set, which was after about ten minutes for this recipe. I would highly recomend these cookies to anyone! They do NOT taste like molasses/gingersnap type cookies like some have suggested. They do NOT have a strong whole wheat flavor. They DO taste like snickerdoodles. Very good snickerdoodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I've used this recipe with some minor tweaks: Instead of butter, I used 1/4 c applesauce, and 2 tablespoons of butter. I also used 1/2 c all purpose flour and 1 c whole wheat flour. The applesauce can make the batter a little too "wet" so I used a little all purpose flour when rolling the cookie dough into a ball. Baked them for 10 minutes, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
I used the Whole WHeat Snickerdoodle Recipe as the crust for the Fruit Pizza Recipe and it was delicious and much healthier since it was made from whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Wow! I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe's outcome! To make it even healthier, I used about 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and 2T butter (instead of 1/2 cup butter). The batter was very sticky so I added about one tablespoon of all purpose flour. I forgot to flatten them but am glad I forgot. After just 10 minutes these cookies came out of the oven like little fluffy pillows of yumminess!!!! Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I LOVED THESE! And i'm not a snickerdoodle lover! i used splenda for baking in place of white sugar and splenda brown sugar (YUM) for the brown sugar. i used 1/3 c. wonderslim in place of the egg (you can get this at wild oats health food store-it is basically prunes/dates cooked down and put through a seive and it replaces eggs as well as fats in recipes. it is great stuff and no artificial junk or hydrogenated oils or cholesterol-and it doesn't alter the taste). i accidentally put the topping mix ingredients in the dough because it doesn't separate them on the ingred. list but i think that made it better. of course i had to make topping to go on the outside too. ***it is important to take these out when they are crackly on the outside and look wet on the inside. they finish outside the oven. my first batch was crunchy but still the best snickerdoodle ever-couldn't keep hubby and kids out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I love cookies but am also a nutritional freak, so when I found this recipe for whole wheat cookies, I had to try them. This was my first time making Snickerdoodles, so I had nothing to compare them to. Out of the oven, these cookies are nice and soft. I tried them again the day after and they are crisp around the edge and still nice and soft in the centre! As for the whole wheat part, I definitely could taste that they were whole wheat but I enjoyed that aspect. As one other reviewer mentioned, it gives it a bit more of an "adult" appeal but my cousin still loved these. My aunt says these are similar to her Ginger Snap cookies, so I may try adding a bit of ginger powder next time to see how they turn out. Great cookie! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These were pretty good considering they were made with whole wheat. I made with 1:1 Whole Wheat:All Purpose because I was afraid of the overbearing taste of the wheat. I'm glad I only did half, as I believe it would have been too strong. Cookies were pretty moist & chewy, although I have definitely tasted more moist and chewier snikerdoodles before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was craving a good snickerdoodle and these hit the spot - bonus points for being whole wheat! I used whole wheat pastry flour and got a nice, smooth texture. I did not have cream of tartar so I substituted the cream of tartar/baking soda combo with 1 tsp. baking powder - did an excellent job! I also recommend chilling the dough for a few hours - it will be much easier to roll. And definitely flatten the cookies. I flattened most of mine and got cute, perfect rounds. The last pan in the oven, I forgot to flatten. The result was not-so-cute dome shaped cookies. :\ Hubby loved them, I loved them. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
WOW! i'm really impressed by this recipe! my whole family loved it, said it had a very nice flavour and didn't even notice that it was made with whole wheat flour! however i never had an original snickerdoodle before, so i don't know if it was supposed to be puffy and soft ( i thought they were supposed to be flat and crispy). either way this was a very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
CAUTION DANGEROUS! I can't stop eating them. I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsps. cinnamon. Used my small Pampered Chef cookie scoop which made 35 cookies. Baked for just 8 mins. Let cool for 3 mins. and transferred to a cooling rack. They are only 1 point for Weight Watchers even using butter. I am in big big trouble, I love them! UPDATE, made them today trying to make them healthier, big flop! I used white whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the butter, to me it was not worth the difference in fat and calories, will use butter next time. My grandson did say they were good and I should share my recipe with every one in my town and his.(he is 4 years old) UPDATE 1/30/2011 Made them again today and put the cinn/sugar into the dough by mistake. Made more cinn/sugar to roll them in. They tasted great and will probably do that from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States