Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yum! Delicious snickerdoodles! It's such a delight to be able to use whole wheat flour & get a wonderful cookie treat! We love these snickerdoodles. I doubled the cinnamon for us cinnamon lovers but kept everything else the same. Just the right flavor & not too sweet. They bake up crispy on the outside & perfectly soft on the inside. Great with a glass of milk! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was craving a good snickerdoodle and these hit the spot - bonus points for being whole wheat! I used whole wheat pastry flour and got a nice, smooth texture. I did not have cream of tartar so I substituted the cream of tartar/baking soda combo with 1 tsp. baking powder - did an excellent job! I also recommend chilling the dough for a few hours - it will be much easier to roll. And definitely flatten the cookies. I flattened most of mine and got cute, perfect rounds. The last pan in the oven, I forgot to flatten. The result was not-so-cute dome shaped cookies. :\ Hubby loved them, I loved them. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Fantastic! You never know that these are made with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My husband & I really liked this recipe!!! I too substituted sugar-free applesauce for the butter for an even healthier version. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Okay, a few things: The cookies are great,but there are some things you shouldn't do. First,make sure you mix the sugar and butter JUST until they're blended;don't over mix it.Adding some cinnamon won't hurt at all,just make sure you don't add too much.Also,i tried to change up the recipe a few times:did half butter/applesauce.Came out kinda dry and had an apple-y taste to them.Added some molasses.Came out hard and crunchy,and tasted like a ginger snap.Added honey,and got the same result as molasses,except they didn't taste like a gingersnap;just gross.They're usually done after about 7 minutes,not 10.If the first tray comes out kinda dry,adding a tablespoon or so of milk helps.This recipe is great,as long as you do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Holy smokes this is delicious! Yes, I have done a bit of tweaking, but still the heart of the recipe. I am so greatful to be able to make Snickerdoodles that have slight redeeming nutrtional value to them. Nice and fluffy and tasty! I've made it twice in the past month, now. I definitly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Whole what??? I can't tell they're whole wheat. Only edits: used Earth Balance instead of butter and used 1 tsp cinnamon. I baked mine for seven minutes - just as they started to crack - and think another minute would have done them well. They're soft and light and sweetly perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe is great. I love the idea of actually getting some fiber in my diet from a cookie. My only complaint is that I could'nt stop eating them, and now I have a stomach ache! Great recipe- saved to my recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Fantastic! I just took my first bite and man I am stoked about these!!!! They are nutty from the whole wheat and just the right amount of sweetness from the brown sugar. I am a huge fan of snickerdoodles and this is a wonderful healthier version of them. Thanks for the recipe it has a permanent spot in my box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very good for something good for you! I try to instill whole wheat in my family for that reason. Thanks so much will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States