Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good! You can taste the ww a bit, but it definitely doesn't bother me. I like ww breads, etc, so it's all good. This doesn't make a lot of cookies, and I made small cookies, but they are cute and good. They are kind of crispy on the outside but soft on the inside. I did end up baking these for 8 min, which worked perfectly. Also, I had very little cinnamon sugar mix leftover, which is good--the recipe is almost spot on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've never had a Snickerdoodle so I wouldn't know how these compare, but they are pretty good cookie! Especially for something with all whole wheat. I used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" (stick form, of course) and was very pleased with the cookie - except I think the baking temp and time are a bit much. I'd bake at 350 for 6 to 8 minutes to avoid overly dry cookies. Pretty tasty! Thanks, Marguerite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made these exactly like the recipe and they tasted nothing like snickerdoodles in my opinion. They tasted like sugar cookies. I even put more cinnamon than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
The cookies tasted a little too "wheaty" to me. They also can out a little hard to manuver when it came to rolling but that may have just been with me. Overall its a good recipe for a healthier choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These were great! Didn't taste "whole wheaty" (lol) at all. Will definitely be making these often, even though one of my daughters professes to hate cinnamon (weirdo! lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were pretty good. The only things I changed were the cooking temp to 350 degrees and cooked them for 6 minutes because I like very soft cookies with little crunch and they came out perfect. I also changed the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
CAUTION DANGEROUS! I can't stop eating them. I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsps. cinnamon. Used my small Pampered Chef cookie scoop which made 35 cookies. Baked for just 8 mins. Let cool for 3 mins. and transferred to a cooling rack. They are only 1 point for Weight Watchers even using butter. I am in big big trouble, I love them! UPDATE, made them today trying to make them healthier, big flop! I used white whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the butter, to me it was not worth the difference in fat and calories, will use butter next time. My grandson did say they were good and I should share my recipe with every one in my town and his.(he is 4 years old) UPDATE 1/30/2011 Made them again today and put the cinn/sugar into the dough by mistake. Made more cinn/sugar to roll them in. They tasted great and will probably do that from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Pretty straightforward. You really can't mess up a snickerdoodle. I followed the recipe exact, only I added about a pinch of salt. I didn't make these for me, I made them for the boys so when they've gotten to try them, I'll update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wow! What a great cookie! I also had no cream of tartar in the house, but thank goodness for the internet, as I learned I could substitute baking powder for the soda/tartar combo. I also mistakenly added in the cinnamon and sugar to the batter, then made more to roll cookies in. They came out so good, I wouldn't change this goof. This recipe is definitely going into the Christmas cookie rotation at my house! And, I am so glad to have found a really delicious use for my WW flour! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yum! Delicious snickerdoodles! It's such a delight to be able to use whole wheat flour & get a wonderful cookie treat! We love these snickerdoodles. I doubled the cinnamon for us cinnamon lovers but kept everything else the same. Just the right flavor & not too sweet. They bake up crispy on the outside & perfectly soft on the inside. Great with a glass of milk! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States