Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love these. Had to dbl the 2nd batch because the first batch disappeared way too quickly. I used Wheat Montana White Whole Wheat flour. I froze the dough for 5-15min before rolling it in the cinnamon/sugar. I used more cinnamon than sugar and got a nice dark crackled finish. These cookies are heavenly straight out of the oven but I think they get even better after cooling and stored in an airtight container. So soft and chewy and they kept well for 4 whole days (I'm sure they'd go longer just haven't had them around long enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kendrapreston
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've read that some people tend to think the texture is on the grittier side. You can combat that by using whole wheat 'bread' flour. It's ground down more then The regular whole wheat flour so the consistency is more fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendrapreston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These were disappointing to me. I did not have Cream of Tarter. So, I also eliminated the baking soda and substituted 1 tsp of baking powder. Per a site: "When baking and cream of tartar is used in tandem with baking soda, the obvious substitute is baking powder. Baking powder is made up primarily of baking soda and cream of tartar. Every 1 tsp of baking powder is the equivalent of 1/4 tsp of baking soda and a tsp of cream of tartar." http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/nutrition/healthy-eating/substitutes-for-cream-of-tartar.html#b So - maybe my review isn't fair. However, they were nice and fluffy and a little chewy on the inside, so that seemed right. Just the taste....I don't think I like the whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I felt the taste of these cookies was pretty good, but the texture was gritty because of the whole wheat flour. If I were to make these again, I would use half white flour, or see if I could find some whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
made it exactly as written and they turned out great. not to sweet, but satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Relish the thought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe!!!!!!!!!I did not have cream of tartar so i used what i had which happened to be apple cider vinegar(1 teaspoon).I also used smart balance buttery spread instead of regular butter.I added pumpkin pie spice along with the sugar and cinnamon on the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
The first time I made these they burned. The second time I made them I baked them at 300 for 7 minutes and they turned out perfect. The whole wheat is no overbearing. My family ate them all in 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
really soft! will make these again, but use more sugar/cinnamon. i also didn't flatten them out and subbed in vinegar for the cream of tartar because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lehman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These are hands down, the best cookie i've ever made. I recommend not touching the recipe at all. you MUST roll the tops in the sugar/cinnamon. OH these are really fantastic. Thanks SO MUCH for this recipe! HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugariffic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were a disappointment. I followed the recipe exactly, but the results are poor. The cookies spread a lot despite chilling the dough, I did add a bit of salt but still feel something is missing and I also thought they seemed a bit greasy. I did use WW Pastry flour, could that be the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States