Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Good for a whole wheat cookie. If you are expecting something identical to a traditional snickerdoodle recipe you may be disappointed. These were softer and more cake like but with comparable flavor. Most important to flatten with a glass because these cookies do not spread out much and retain their shape well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Wow! These are really delicious, tender cookies. Not at all what I expected from a recipe that used 100% whole wheat flour. I followed the recipe to the letter except I doubled the vanilla extract (always do). Only complaint was that mine didn't have that cracked top look like some snickerdoodles--still delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I added extra cinnamon to the batter, as well as a dash of cloves, just to make the cookie itself spicier before rolling it in the cinnamon/sugar mixture. I also substituted applesauce for a bit of the butter, say 1/4 of the amount called for. And I forgot to flatten the cookies both times I baked them, so they were puffier than the picture shows, but still yummy. They're a little dry and crumbly because of the whole-wheat flour, but good with a glass of milk or cup of tea. And they taste good warm out of the oven, but even better the next day. My husband and I had a hard time NOT eating them by the handful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was excellent! I used whole wheat PASTRY flour instead of regular whole wheat which gives these cookies an excellent texture (very similar to regular snickerdoodles). I used 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon, the same sugar/cinnamon ratio I usually use (2T/1t). They seem a bit sticky when you are rolling them into balls, this is OK, they will turn out fine :) I did NOT press them down with a glass and they spread out just right. Like all snickerdoodle cookies you have to take them out before they look set, which was after about ten minutes for this recipe. I would highly recomend these cookies to anyone! They do NOT taste like molasses/gingersnap type cookies like some have suggested. They do NOT have a strong whole wheat flavor. They DO taste like snickerdoodles. Very good snickerdoodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Nice & Soft, my kids liked them and could not tell there was whole wheat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wanted to use up my whole wheat flour. I think I just don't love snickerdoodles. I thought the cookies were very bland with a strong wheat flavor. Next time I would add some chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The taste of these cookies were great, I did add more cinnamon to the sugar for more spice. My cookies came out somewhat flat but they had a great chewyness to them and I felt great that I was able to get whole grain in a cookie. They were also so easy and quick to make and the batch made quite a few cookies I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
A Very Good Cookie! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using whole wheat pastry flour, which I highly recommend!I will add this recipe to may collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Yummy! I used stone ground whole wheat flour and thought it looked a little course so I replaced a 1/2 cup of the wheat flour with just regular all purpose flour. I might try it with whole wheat pastry flour the next time. The hubby and 5 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy, easy, excellent. Recommend sprinkling a little extra cinnamon on top to get the "snickerdoodle" look! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States