Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wanted to use up my whole wheat flour. I think I just don't love snickerdoodles. I thought the cookies were very bland with a strong wheat flavor. Next time I would add some chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The taste of these cookies were great, I did add more cinnamon to the sugar for more spice. My cookies came out somewhat flat but they had a great chewyness to them and I felt great that I was able to get whole grain in a cookie. They were also so easy and quick to make and the batch made quite a few cookies I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
A Very Good Cookie! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using whole wheat pastry flour, which I highly recommend!I will add this recipe to may collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Yummy! I used stone ground whole wheat flour and thought it looked a little course so I replaced a 1/2 cup of the wheat flour with just regular all purpose flour. I might try it with whole wheat pastry flour the next time. The hubby and 5 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy, easy, excellent. Recommend sprinkling a little extra cinnamon on top to get the "snickerdoodle" look! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
These were awful!!!! I halved the batch and after forcing my little brother to try one ate the entire batch!!!! IT WAS AWFUL! but in a good way of course. I used splenda brown sugar, and normal sugar as a replacement, and used my smart balance light butter spread instead of the butter to decalorize it even more and it was sooooo good. Mine turned out really puffy, which i hate, but after doing some research :P, i think this was due to me halving the recipe but using a whole egg, using cold butter and eggs, chilling the dough before baking (which made it more rollable) and maybe using too much baking soda. I also didn't find it to be very sweet, which I kind of liked, but I think next time I will had a tablespoon or two of honey, or some liquid sweetener like that. Also, I think I overbaked mine with 8 minutes. Next time I'm going to try 6 and see how it goes. I didn't feel like getting out my mixer so I softened the butter and just kind of whisked it by hand. I also just kind of stuck the dough in the freezer for a couple minutes to chill it thinking it would be easier to make round and roll in sugar and stuff, but next time after I put the dough on the cookie sheets I'm going to let it warm to room temp. to see if they turn out flatter and chewier. These are officially my new favorite healthy cookie!!!! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My teenager made these while I was shopping today...she couldn't find cinnamon so used some apple pie spice instead, as well as Splenda brown sugar. They came out very tasty! She didn't flatten them after rolling in the cinnamon/sugar so they were very thick in the middle, but that didn't effect the flavor. They are very good, with a nice sweet "wheaty" flavor that is complimented nicely by the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe is really great. I LOVE the whole wheat flavor and have already made this twice. I used Smart Balance instead of butter the first time and I thought it gave a better flavor and texture. I couldn't keep my husband away from these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamie lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Oh..My...God! These are amazing! Extremely simple to make, yet they taste and look like a pro did. I'm 15 and made these in a snap. They taste more like a molasses or gingerbread cookie, but hey, that's fine by me =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birch Run, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
We could definitely tell these were whole wheat, however, they were still quite good. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States