Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Good for a whole wheat cookie. If you are expecting something identical to a traditional snickerdoodle recipe you may be disappointed. These were softer and more cake like but with comparable flavor. Most important to flatten with a glass because these cookies do not spread out much and retain their shape well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Wow! These are really delicious, tender cookies. Not at all what I expected from a recipe that used 100% whole wheat flour. I followed the recipe to the letter except I doubled the vanilla extract (always do). Only complaint was that mine didn't have that cracked top look like some snickerdoodles--still delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I added extra cinnamon to the batter, as well as a dash of cloves, just to make the cookie itself spicier before rolling it in the cinnamon/sugar mixture. I also substituted applesauce for a bit of the butter, say 1/4 of the amount called for. And I forgot to flatten the cookies both times I baked them, so they were puffier than the picture shows, but still yummy. They're a little dry and crumbly because of the whole-wheat flour, but good with a glass of milk or cup of tea. And they taste good warm out of the oven, but even better the next day. My husband and I had a hard time NOT eating them by the handful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was excellent! I used whole wheat PASTRY flour instead of regular whole wheat which gives these cookies an excellent texture (very similar to regular snickerdoodles). I used 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon, the same sugar/cinnamon ratio I usually use (2T/1t). They seem a bit sticky when you are rolling them into balls, this is OK, they will turn out fine :) I did NOT press them down with a glass and they spread out just right. Like all snickerdoodle cookies you have to take them out before they look set, which was after about ten minutes for this recipe. I would highly recomend these cookies to anyone! They do NOT taste like molasses/gingersnap type cookies like some have suggested. They do NOT have a strong whole wheat flavor. They DO taste like snickerdoodles. Very good snickerdoodles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Nice & Soft, my kids liked them and could not tell there was whole wheat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wanted to use up my whole wheat flour. I think I just don't love snickerdoodles. I thought the cookies were very bland with a strong wheat flavor. Next time I would add some chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The taste of these cookies were great, I did add more cinnamon to the sugar for more spice. My cookies came out somewhat flat but they had a great chewyness to them and I felt great that I was able to get whole grain in a cookie. They were also so easy and quick to make and the batch made quite a few cookies I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
A Very Good Cookie! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using whole wheat pastry flour, which I highly recommend!I will add this recipe to may collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Yummy! I used stone ground whole wheat flour and thought it looked a little course so I replaced a 1/2 cup of the wheat flour with just regular all purpose flour. I might try it with whole wheat pastry flour the next time. The hubby and 5 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Yummy, easy, excellent. Recommend sprinkling a little extra cinnamon on top to get the "snickerdoodle" look! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States