Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
As suggested, I replaced half the wheat flour with unbleached AP flour. Yum!!! I'm a cookie lover, so this definitely helps in the nutrition area. Also, my 13 year old even gave them a big "YUM!"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is the snickerdoodle recipe that I keep coming back to! I love that the whole wheat flour makes a slightly firmer, chewier cookie - and my family loves them, too :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Just made these and they are delicious! Used light butter instead of regular. I used a brown sugar blend and sugar/stevia blend instead of the regular sugars and used 1tsp of baking powder in place of cream of tarter and baking soda. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yummy!! Would like them chewier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom27busybees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used whole wheat pastry flour, and these turned out fantastic. I don't think anyone would have guessed that these were 100% whole wheat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love these. Had to dbl the 2nd batch because the first batch disappeared way too quickly. I used Wheat Montana White Whole Wheat flour. I froze the dough for 5-15min before rolling it in the cinnamon/sugar. I used more cinnamon than sugar and got a nice dark crackled finish. These cookies are heavenly straight out of the oven but I think they get even better after cooling and stored in an airtight container. So soft and chewy and they kept well for 4 whole days (I'm sure they'd go longer just haven't had them around long enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kendrapreston
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've read that some people tend to think the texture is on the grittier side. You can combat that by using whole wheat 'bread' flour. It's ground down more then The regular whole wheat flour so the consistency is more fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendrapreston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These were disappointing to me. I did not have Cream of Tarter. So, I also eliminated the baking soda and substituted 1 tsp of baking powder. Per a site: "When baking and cream of tartar is used in tandem with baking soda, the obvious substitute is baking powder. Baking powder is made up primarily of baking soda and cream of tartar. Every 1 tsp of baking powder is the equivalent of 1/4 tsp of baking soda and a tsp of cream of tartar." http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/nutrition/healthy-eating/substitutes-for-cream-of-tartar.html#b So - maybe my review isn't fair. However, they were nice and fluffy and a little chewy on the inside, so that seemed right. Just the taste....I don't think I like the whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I felt the taste of these cookies was pretty good, but the texture was gritty because of the whole wheat flour. If I were to make these again, I would use half white flour, or see if I could find some whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
made it exactly as written and they turned out great. not to sweet, but satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Relish the thought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States