Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I've made this at least six to eight times and it always comes out beautifully. The only warning I'd like to give is that it yields four loaves (not two) so make sure you have extra loaf pans! Also, because of all the grains it needs a bit of help rising. I add about 8-10 Tbs. of Vital Wheat Gluten (Bobs Red Mill can be found in any supermarket) and it rises very well. The last bit of advice I'll give you is that due to the abundant amount of loaves this recipe yields, I like to thickly slice this bread and lay out the slices in a gallon freezer ziploc (with wax paper between the slices) and freeze them. I just take out a slice for my breakfast, toast it and slather with butter and jam, and I have breakfast for weeks - and there's still enough to give one or two loaves away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I tried it only once and have had rave reviews from my family and friends. It has quickly become a staple in my home! Cheri Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i loved this bread! and so did my family!! i made one pan of rolls and two gigantic loaves. shared it with my nco-workers. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Holy rising dough, Batman! These made the biggest loaves I have ever seen (and I got 4 out of this recipe!!!). They were beautiful & crunchy on the outside, so soft and pliable on the inside. Perfect! I live at 6300 ft. so, with any bread, I add a few Tbs. of dough enhancer; I just can't seem to get a good, light, wheat bread without it. Also, didn't have enough lemon juice, so finished it off with half as much vinegar. Worked great! Thanks BentRiver: my 11 year old son--and best critic--said it was the best bread I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I didn't have molasses, so doubled the amount of honey, and didn't have cracked wheat, so used 7 grain cereal. This filled more than 1 bread pan, so some of the dough went into a bread pan, and the rest was a free formed loaf. The smaller amount baked in 35 minutes, and the larger loaf baked in 45 minutes. Wonderful taste! Great texture! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the best recipe for bread that I have found. I took the suggestion to use 1/4 molasses and 3/4 honey after finding the taste too strong. I add 9 tbs. of vital wheat gluten for nice raising. I use 5 cups fine grind wheat and 4 cups course grind wheat. Since we usually don't have applesauce, I just microwave an apple or pear to start the yeast it. I also use whole flax seed. It is great tasting bread with fantastic texture with the whole grains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
great recipe! I didnt have cracked wheat, or sunflower seeds so put in 1/4 cup chopped fine walnuts. I used 3/4 cup honey to 1/4 cup molasses. I added probably 2 to 2 1/2 cups more flour. I made it in my kitchen aid mixer..heavy duty one. I mixed it on Speed 2 until it just came away from sides. Also my flour was freshly ground whole wheat from the farmers market. This recipe is big! I got 12 buns, 1 10"round, 2 --9 1/2 x 5 1/2 loaves. The texture is light and the taste is lovely. I found my bread ready in 25 minutes. I used a thermometer to 200degrees. I think you could make this recipe in any shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
LOVE THIS BREAD! I make it as it's written. I've changed this to be my regular bread recipe that I use for sandwhiches and then shaped differently with toppings for a meal type bread. It does make a lot. When I rise it in the sun I get 3 loaves in medium sized pans and 1 log-shaped free form loaf. I love that it's whole wheat, no white flour and it's not too dense. It did take me a while to perfect it. If it's not perfect the first time, keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful whole wheat bread. I halved the recipe and still ended up with enough to make a regular loaf and a round loaf. If I hadn't wanted to use my second bread pan for a different loaf of bread, I'm sure it would've made two loaf pans worth. It's hearty yet not too dense all at the same time. I added 5 tbs of vital wheat gluten and it rose very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Super delicious bread! I followed other reviewers suggestions and changed the ratio of honey and molasses - used about 1/3 cup molasses and 2/3 cup honey. I didn't have cracked wheat, so substituted cornmeal grits (polenta grind) and that was a nice addition. I also used 1 cup graham flour and 1 cup wheat bran, and reduced the whole wheat flour to 7 cups, substituted oat bran for the oats, added 3 tbsp gluten and 3 tbsp powdered buttermilk. I used roasted, salted sunflower seeds, so reduced the salt as well. I didn't bake it in bread pans - I formed 2 round loaves and 2 oblong loaves and put on 2 oiled cookie sheets. The bread turned out heavy, dense, and delicious - just the way we like a good bread. This recipe is a definite keeper - but I probably will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States