Whole Wheat Refrigerator Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very easy and tasty recipe. I decided to use mostly whole wheat flour. I only used 1.5 cups of the all purpose flour. These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynBW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These have become a staple in my house. I use more whole wheat flour and less all-purpose. The family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These were quite good, but I think they need a bit more salt. They were very, very yeasty, too, which is not necessarily a bad thing, just distinctive. Definitely the best homemade bread I've ever made - I usually find that it tastes flat - and I like that they were whole-wheat, but I think I'm still looking for the totally amazingly perfect dinner roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These did not rise for me, unfortunately. I used wheat flour for the entire recipe, and as I read in another review, I probably should have doubled the of yeast. I think I'll give it another try. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A very average roll if made by this recipe. Using lard instead of oil helped these rolls tremendously. I also added two tablespoons of honey to this recipe. Using sea salt instead of just any salt also gave them a much better flavor. With all these changes it’s basically a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very nice rolls and they did rise very high. I halved the recipe and put in bread machine on dough cycle. I made them into clover rolls in a cupcake pan. I think, I could have made about 18 rolls instead of the 12 that I made. Good flavor and easy to work with. Used half white wheat and half AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Well, 1st time I followed recipe, it didn't work out putting in frige. It rose nicely the 1st time but failed to rise again. My 2nd attempt I replaced 1/2C WW flour w/quick oats. I used brn sugar & bread flour vs A/P flour. Olive oil vs vegetable. Proofed yeast in 1/2C warm water with 1 tblsp of honey for 10 minutes. I chose to use milk (scalded) vs remaining water. I thought the milk cooled enough and added 1 tblsp vinegar to make more of a buttermilk...eeeee gads, a clump of cheese formed, LOL. I removed that and ended up with whey. So, I added in enough milk to get 1-1/2 C. Oh, I did use a K/A stand mixer but didn't let it do the kneading. I pulled it out while fairly sticky & kneaded in about 1/4C AP flour until I could form into ball for 1st rise. Got sidetracked & dough rose for 2 hours - holy moly, it got huge! After deflated, I cut chunks off, rolled into balls, placed on large baking sheet & covered with plastic wrap & froze. I ended up with 37 dough balls. Upon using, I decided to stick 2 together (flat sides) and placed in reg size muffin cups - let thaw & rise (took about 3 hours). Even with my blunders...they turned out perfect! I wrote review so I will remember what I did as I will be making again! These were the BEST rolls EVER & will duplicate in same fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These rolls are awesome! Always a hit with my family and friends. I had to decrease the amount of flour called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I cut the batch in half and make 1/2 now & raise the other 1/2 in the fridge for fresh rolls later. That way I can have fresh several days from the same batch. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Really yummy roll! Though my husband prefers white dinner rolls best, I made these and he really liked them. I think this will be my #2 recipe when I want to get more fiber/whole grains into my family's diet:) I didn't refrigerate them but just let them rise and they turned out beautiful! Very impressed. I did some tweaking of my own with these. I added about 1/2 cup of non-fat powdered milk when I was adding the sugar. I let the yeast activate in the hot water along with a TBSP of sugar, then added it to my Bosch. I followed up by adding the sugar, egg, vegetable oil, salt and let that mix. Then I added the 2 flours until it was the right stickiness and let it knead for about 5 min since the Bosch does all the work! I think the powdered milk or you could use milk in substitute for some of the milk makes it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States