Whole Wheat Refrigerator Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Very easy and tasty recipe. I decided to use mostly whole wheat flour. I only used 1.5 cups of the all purpose flour. These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynBW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These have become a staple in my house. I use more whole wheat flour and less all-purpose. The family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These were quite good, but I think they need a bit more salt. They were very, very yeasty, too, which is not necessarily a bad thing, just distinctive. Definitely the best homemade bread I've ever made - I usually find that it tastes flat - and I like that they were whole-wheat, but I think I'm still looking for the totally amazingly perfect dinner roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These did not rise for me, unfortunately. I used wheat flour for the entire recipe, and as I read in another review, I probably should have doubled the of yeast. I think I'll give it another try. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A very average roll if made by this recipe. Using lard instead of oil helped these rolls tremendously. I also added two tablespoons of honey to this recipe. Using sea salt instead of just any salt also gave them a much better flavor. With all these changes it’s basically a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very nice rolls and they did rise very high. I halved the recipe and put in bread machine on dough cycle. I made them into clover rolls in a cupcake pan. I think, I could have made about 18 rolls instead of the 12 that I made. Good flavor and easy to work with. Used half white wheat and half AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Well, 1st time I followed recipe, it didn't work out putting in frige. It rose nicely the 1st time but failed to rise again. My 2nd attempt I replaced 1/2C WW flour w/quick oats. I used brn sugar & bread flour vs A/P flour. Olive oil vs vegetable. Proofed yeast in 1/2C warm water with 1 tblsp of honey for 10 minutes. I chose to use milk (scalded) vs remaining water. I thought the milk cooled enough and added 1 tblsp vinegar to make more of a buttermilk...eeeee gads, a clump of cheese formed, LOL. I removed that and ended up with whey. So, I added in enough milk to get 1-1/2 C. Oh, I did use a K/A stand mixer but didn't let it do the kneading. I pulled it out while fairly sticky & kneaded in about 1/4C AP flour until I could form into ball for 1st rise. Got sidetracked & dough rose for 2 hours - holy moly, it got huge! After deflated, I cut chunks off, rolled into balls, placed on large baking sheet & covered with plastic wrap & froze. I ended up with 37 dough balls. Upon using, I decided to stick 2 together (flat sides) and placed in reg size muffin cups - let thaw & rise (took about 3 hours). Even with my blunders...they turned out perfect! I wrote review so I will remember what I did as I will be making again! These were the BEST rolls EVER & will duplicate in same fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These rolls are awesome! Always a hit with my family and friends. I had to decrease the amount of flour called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I cut the batch in half and make 1/2 now & raise the other 1/2 in the fridge for fresh rolls later. That way I can have fresh several days from the same batch. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Really yummy roll! Though my husband prefers white dinner rolls best, I made these and he really liked them. I think this will be my #2 recipe when I want to get more fiber/whole grains into my family's diet:) I didn't refrigerate them but just let them rise and they turned out beautiful! Very impressed. I did some tweaking of my own with these. I added about 1/2 cup of non-fat powdered milk when I was adding the sugar. I let the yeast activate in the hot water along with a TBSP of sugar, then added it to my Bosch. I followed up by adding the sugar, egg, vegetable oil, salt and let that mix. Then I added the 2 flours until it was the right stickiness and let it knead for about 5 min since the Bosch does all the work! I think the powdered milk or you could use milk in substitute for some of the milk makes it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States