Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious muffins. I took the advice of other reviewers and left out the white sugar. They would have been too sweet with it. I used cranberries instead of the raisins and pecans. They complemented the pumpkin very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Great, moist muffins. Followed the recipe without the optional raisins and nuts. These were gone before the other, not as healthy, muffins at work today. Love the texture and flavor that the whole wheat adds. Thanks for a wonderful muffin recipe - these baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I only rated 4 stars because I changed the recipe so much. I used egg beaters, splenda, 1/2 vanilla extract and omitted the oil using 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 2% milk. It's a great base recipe and you can change it every time to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are by far the best whole wheat pumpkin muffins I've made. I did substitute splenda white and brown sugar and used homemade no sugar added applesauce. Even after oopsing the first time and adding allspice instead of pumpkin pie spice these muffins rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
pretty good muffin! i omitted the oil and white sugar. i used 2/3 cup brown sugar only and about 3/4 cup applesauce. i didn't have pumpkin pie spice and i also used whole milk instead of buttermilk. they came out very moist and not too sweet. perfect snack for little ones as well as big kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I really like this! I took people's advice about no white sugar or oil. The first batch was really good, but in the second I added a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and that made them fantastic! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
healthy, delicious muffins. I have added all pumpkin when I was out of apple sauce and they turned out just as tasty. I love the way you can add many changes to this, my last baking of these muffins, I decreased the sugear by 1/2 cup and added butterscotch chips. These are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great recipe! For the add-ins I used walnuts and craisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These were pretty good. Not 5 star, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These muffins turned out very yummy. Will definately make again. I didn't have any apple sauce, so I chopped up some apples and cooked them till soft, and pureed them in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States